1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Recessing plasma behind 'false wall'

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by Rosey, Jan 12, 2005.

1. Rosey

Rosey

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm fairly new to all of this and have just purchased a Hitachi 42PD5200 plasma. To keep things tidy I had intended to mount the plasma on its flat wall bracket attached to the existing external wall and then construct a false wall over the top; so effectively the screen is flush with the cut out in the surface of the false wall. I can then all cables behind this false wall to the assorted components. My concern is that there is sufficient space for air circulation behind the false wall - which I intend to construct out of MDF. Does anyone else have any experience of doing anything like this?

Glad of any help.

2. dvdsubtitles

dvdsubtitles

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    One of the major problems with recessing a plasma is that Plasma's give off a heck of a lot of heat and need good ventilation. So if you have it recessed you have to make sure that there is good ventilation behind the false wall.

Mat

3. mjn

mjn
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,934
    there is an article for this exact idea in Home Theatre Builder magazine Nov 2004

4. alpina

alpina

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    ive been thinking of doing something similar also, mainly because my wall is masonary and the idea of chasing the wires through concrete is a little scary and sounds very messy.

having said that i dont think ill end up going with the false wall option in the end as it dont want the lose the internal space. which leaves me with 2 options:
    1. chase it