Reception problems

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by MikeMM, Feb 4, 2005.

  1. MikeMM

    MikeMM
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have recently purchased a Toshiba D-R1 but I am experiencing diagonal lines across my TV screen when tuned into channel 4. All other channels are ok and when I switch the recorder off the picture quality is fine. Could any one help?
     
  2. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    20,342
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,954
    Try moving the Tosh physically further away from your Tv and see if that stops or reduces the interference.
     
  3. JethroUK

    JethroUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +0
    maybe r/f frequency is too close to channel 4 & needs tweaking away from it

    you can tell if it's this by unplugging any aerial from the recorder and plugging it straight back to TV - now try channel 4 with the recorder on - if the interfernce has gone - that's what it is
     
  4. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    20,342
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,954
    How can it be? It does'nt have an Rf modulator!
     
  5. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +621
    I had a similar problem with my XS32, and it turned out to be caused by the RF fly lead coming out of the XS32. While the xS32 was just looping the RF through, the lead supplied is poor quality, and I was getting interference. Replacing this with a good RF fly lead solved the problem.

    For me, it was ITV which was really bad; Channel 4 only had a little interference...

    Mark
     
  6. JethroUK

    JethroUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +0
    If it doesn't have R/F out, then that's not the problem
     
  7. PanicLord

    PanicLord
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd go with moving the unit further away. I've been having major interference problems on my Pan DMR85 (which is an amazing machine) and it came to me in a flash of inspiration last night that the hard drive in it is basically a big magnet, and it was only 20cm away from the TV or so.

    Moved it further away - picture is now clear! :clap:
     

Share This Page

Loading...