Question Receiver with separate subwoofer setting for music and movies

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by JojieT, Dec 5, 2017.

  1. JojieT

    JojieT
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    This is my first post. I want to know if there is an AV Receiver out there (make and model), that allows for separate subwoofer setting for music and movies. Right now, I have a Denon 4400h and dual PSA v1801 subs, I always prefer to dial up the subwoofer level a bit about 2b more when watching movies. I have to go to settings/audio/subwoofer level on my receiver to dial up or down depending on whether I'm listening to music or watching movies. I prefer to have a button or quick menu, to select music or movies and has it's own subwoofer settings.

    Thanks.
     
  2. gibbsy

    gibbsy
    Moderator

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    13,985
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Cwm Cynon, De Cymru
    Ratings:
    +7,845
    On some new Denons you have a sub woofer level adjustment off the option button on the remote.
     
  3. perseus

    perseus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Ratings:
    +13
    My yamaha aventage have scene settings that can be saved for different configurations such as movies and music. To recall a scene just press one of four scene buttons on the remote. You can save more scenes but to recall them you have to go to settings first.
     
  4. Deleted member 598831

    Deleted member 598831
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anthem 520 720 or 1120

    Allows you select different eq profiles
     
  5. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    46,365
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,141
    The higher tier Denon and Marantz receivers include the ability to have different bass management configurations as well as front speaker levels and distance settings for use with 2 channel audio sources.

    In the SPEAKERS MANUAL SETUP there's a 2CH PLAYBACK settings option. All of the following can be set independently of the main setting relative to 2 channel sources:


    snapshot004.jpg
    snapshot005.jpg
    snapshot006.jpg
    snapshot007.jpg snapshot008.jpg


    This option would be included on Denon models from the AVRX4400 upward and on the Marantz models from the SR7012 upward.
     
  6. gibbsy

    gibbsy
    Moderator

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    13,985
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Cwm Cynon, De Cymru
    Ratings:
    +7,845
    :blush:Opps. Forgot about that. That's what I use which makes my memory even worse! I've been standing to close to the pop ty ping.;)
     
  7. Rambles

    Rambles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    10,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2,108
    The 2ch playback settings on the Denon and Marantz AVR's don't actually let you increase the level of the subwoofer.
     
  8. Jase

    Jase
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,942
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3,362
    Not in that part of the setup menu, no. Just use the Option - Channel Level to change the SW level. It will then be stored for that Input/Mode.
     
  9. Jase

    Jase
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,942
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3,362
    This. :smashin: It's the easiest way to adjust channel levels for whatever mode the AVR is in at the time and is stored on a per Input/Mode basis.
     
  10. Rambles

    Rambles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    10,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2,108
    It will be stored for that input, but not for that mode. So if you change between stereo or surround modes, the adjustment will still be there. This won't work as the OP intended, that is to have the subwoofer louder for stereo playback than it is for movie / surround sound playback.
     
  11. Jase

    Jase
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,942
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3,362
    My Denon stores the levels seperately for each Mode on each Input although it does group Dolby/DTS as one. Seems like they've gone backwards from 10 years ago if the new ones don't also do that.

    Just checked my Marantz and that does indeed work as you say. I've got movies and music sources on seperate Inputs so hadn't come across that limitation.
     
  12. Rambles

    Rambles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    10,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2,108
    Yep, same here, I have a different system for music, so not an issue for me. I have a Marantz SR7011, which I checked on. So, I guess the Denon's could be different - seems unlikely.
     
  13. Jase

    Jase
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,942
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3,362
    Denon/Marantz models seem to share most internal bits these days with the same menu structures etc so it would be unlikely. Shame, as that was/is a very useful feature if you use just one source for movies and music.

    Mind you, could always set up a second Input via another connection and get around it that way.
     

Share This Page

Loading...