Receiver or speakers at fault ?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by la gran siete, Sep 9, 2017.

  1. la gran siete

    la gran siete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    25,276
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +1,984
    I have a rather old pair of Kef Q55 a Kef Q85c and a pair of small Kef surround sound ( I forget which ones but they are dated) and a Yamaha RX-V1065 amp.The problem is that the sound I get particularly from the centre speaker, is just plain dull and I can barely hear the dialogue as it just sounds muddled, in fact, my LG Oled's own in-built speaker sounds better and brighter. I can also get better sound from Pure direct mode but that defeats the object of 5.1.
    I recently bought a Q acoustics 3090c centre speaker but that did not improve things so I kind of think may be the amp is faulty in some way so I am now looking to replace that and the front left right speakers (again Q acoustics)..Any suggestions? I am looking in terms of a Denon AVRX3300 as the price is agreeable to me but my main priority is to get that left/right/centre combination right.Thanks
     
  2. xmb

    xmb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +205
    Reset the Yamaha to factory defaults and run the setup again. (You could try listening after the factory reset before running YAPO.)
     
  3. Rodders53

    Rodders53
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    5,296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bedford
    Ratings:
    +961
    Or even consider removing the dynamic room equalisation applied to the speakers. (The one that does what used to be called 'loudness' on hifi and radios: compensation for the ear's frequency response at lower volume settings).

    My Onkyo sounds much nicer, to me and swmbo, without it on.

    Not sure what Yamaha call it.
     
  4. southleft

    southleft
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    earth
    Ratings:
    +22
    Yes, the old "Loudness" setting progressively boosts lowest bass octaves and highest treble octaves as you reduce the volume setting from maximum down to lower levels. The idea is to compensate for humans' reduced ability to hear those frequencies at quieter levels. Our ears remain sensitive to middle pitch sounds. So, Loudness or Dynamic EQ may produce a pleasing result when listening to music at low-ish volume, but it's definitely NOT a good thing if you're trying to make voices/dialog. By the way, those frequency curves are based on Fletcher & Munson's research on hearing way back in the 20th century!
     
  5. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    46,552
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,216
    Try using a different PEQ setting or try bypassing PEQ altogether.
     
  6. la gran siete

    la gran siete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    25,276
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +1,984
    That may well solve the issue for me as I have it on the MAX setting.Many thanks for that.

    I just realised that I hadn't run the YPAO correctly although I had the microphone pointing directly at the ceiling I sited it on the back cushion of my sofa thinking that is where my head rests.Yamaha recommends the use of a tripod
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2017
  7. ian4949

    ian4949
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    sy
    Ratings:
    +10
    When running the YAPO use about 8 spots across the area where your seated . A tripod would be best but if you don't have one place the Mic in a spot it won't move . Run the YAPO . I've done my dennon a few times then changed cross overs manually. Cheers .
     
  8. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    46,552
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,216
  9. la gran siete

    la gran siete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    25,276
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +1,984
    I shall be ordering a tripod and will follow the suggestions .For now, I used a stool but I see that is not ideal either. At least it saves me forking out on a new amp,although I suspect I shall replace the lt /rt speakers
    Many thanks
     
  10. la gran siete

    la gran siete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    25,276
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +1,984
    Ok, so doing that presumably averages out the sound across the area covered by those eight spots?
     
  11. la gran siete

    la gran siete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    25,276
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +1,984
    I see from one of your posts you recommend the use of a boom Mic stand .Presumably one can attach appropriate accessories to the end of it to produce a surface fit for the mic?

    seems to me I need something like thishttps://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Dmi&field-keywords=On+Stage+CM01+Video+Camera%2FDigital+Recorder+Adapter

    fitted onto something like this https://www.amazon.co.uk/AmazonBasi...TF8&qid=1505126288&sr=1-5&keywords=boom+stand
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2017
  12. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    46,552
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,216
    I've a boon mic stand and use a mic to camera mount adaptor to fascilitate mounting the calibration mic.

    IMG_0117.jpg

    IMG_0194.jpg

    [​IMG]


    The adaptor is available here:
    1/4

    It should fit most mic stands, but some stands may require a 3/8" to 5/8" screw thread adaptor?
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2017
  13. la gran siete

    la gran siete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    25,276
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +1,984
  14. la gran siete

    la gran siete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    25,276
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +1,984
    i have now bought those two items so hopefully, they will do the trick.Many thanks once again
     

Share This Page

Loading...