1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Receiver/amp? whats the difference?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by bradalax, Apr 7, 2005.

1. bradalax

bradalax

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    Greetings, I'l apologise right away for my questions, I'm just starting out in the Home theatre world!

I have a 42" rear projection Tv arriving on Sunday ( :D ) it's High Def ready so I am looking to replace my Panasonic DVD Home Theatre System SA-DM3. I think I'm going to go for a PIONEER DV575 DVD player, but will need something for the surround sound.

The speakers I have are already wired up and pretty much fixed into place, does anyone know if the either of these 2 systems will be able to use my existing speakers (they just have speaker wire so they need the Hi Fi type speaker clip connections)

YAMAHA RXV350 A/V RECEIVER
    PIONEER VSXD514s

Also what is the difference between an amp and a receiver? Am I looking for the right equipment here?

2. Harry T2

Harry T2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +10
    They are actually both receivers.

An amp + tuner = receiver. Worst case scenario is you will have a redundant radio.

Depending on the existing speaker, clips are not the preferred option of connection.

Better connection is made with banana plugs or spade connectors. But if the amp/receiver doesnt allow it, bare wire it is.

3. bradalax

bradalax

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks for that Harry.

My exisiting speakers are wall mounted and papered over, I can remove em if need be but I'd rather not! ;) They speaker wire is just bare, can I get something to attach to the wire to enable other connection do you know?

4. lee789

lee789

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    The difference between an amp and a receiver is that a receiver has a radio tuner in built.