1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Receiver/Amp Pre-out help

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by overfloe, Oct 20, 2003.

  1. overfloe

    overfloe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    I've just bought an arcam a75+ amp and want to pair it with pio 812 receiver.. i used the pre-out on the receiver to connect to the stereo amp using av/dvd input. oddly enough the sound coming out from the MA B2s are too low :rolleyes: i've cranked up the amp's volume till half and the receiver till -20 dB but still doesn't sound right.. am i missing something here?

    Many Thanks
     
  2. adc2000974

    adc2000974
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    it sells of a voltage problem, just a guess
     
  3. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    You have to adjust the levels of all channels: set the stereo-amp to 12 o'clock position / half way and then use the AV amps menu to level the volume using a SPL meter.
    Most likely you need to lower the center and rear channels, then use the AV amps volume knob to increase the overall volume.
    After levelling don't change the position of the stereo amp's volume control and mark or remember the position (if it's not obvious) so that you can set it correctly next time.
     
  4. wilber

    wilber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +30
    The A75+ should be connected to your receiver via the av-dvd connections. Switch on switch to this setting with your receiver on (but keep the volume low just in case) . press and hold the button just to the left of the source selecter switch marked tape above and AV processor below. After 5 seconds you should get a green light just below the button. Your A75+ will now have a fixed gain for this source and all you now need to do is adjust your front speakers to the same level as the centre (using the controls on your av amp)

    Whenever you switch to av-dvd, your Arcam will always be at the right level

    Just found the manual - it's on page 5

    HTH
     
  5. overfloe

    overfloe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +0
    cheers for the tips Reiner & Wilber! :clap:
    the preout of the receiver is connected to the arcam's av/dvd input.. the av processor button is kinda confusing.. i'll check it out when i got back to home :smashin:
     
  6. overfloe

    overfloe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi,
    i have managed to make them working together. unfortunately there's a buzzing sound coming out from the speakers. i assume this has got nothing to do with the volume level as turning up and down does not make any difference. :(
    i did the MCACC setup again but the buzz is still there
     
  7. wilber

    wilber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +30
    Hmm - doesn't sound good, how many speakers buzz?. check connections, does it buzz when l/r speaker connected directly to 812? does it buzz when the Arcam is switched on without the 812? bit of prcess of elimination needed & then maybe a visit to your retailer for a warranty job :(
     
  8. overfloe

    overfloe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +0
    both front speakers buzz.. but not when connected to the 812 or arcam alone :(
     
  9. wilber

    wilber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +30
    What about when 812 off & Arcam on? (clutching at straws in the hope that something will click) and how loud is the buzz with a "normal" level of volume.
     
  10. wilber

    wilber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +30
    And another thing ... what else do you have connected to the 75+? I used to have sky connected to listen to the radio but I got "interference" when listening to DVD unless I turned off the sky box, which wasn't always practical. (still grasping at straws)
     
  11. overfloe

    overfloe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi wilber,
    812 off, arcam on = no buzz, and vice versa.. the buzz is noticeable 3m away from the speakers
    the only equipment that is connected to the amp is the receiver.. im just using a cheap interconnects atm but i doubt that is causing the problem..
     
  12. wilber

    wilber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +30
    try connecting the pre-outs to a different input on the A75? beyond that it's customer service time I think.
     
  13. overfloe

    overfloe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +0
    will try that during the weekend wilber..but im sure the av input is ok as i've tried using it to connect with my pc.. will let you know how it goes..
     
  14. wookie

    wookie
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try an earth strap (bit of speaker cable) between chassis.

    Connect both amps casework together.

    Should sort it out
     
  15. overfloe

    overfloe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +0
    wilber, it is confirmed that the arcam is faulty. i have tried using my friend's nad 320bee and it worked flawlessly.
    thanks all for the help :)
     
  16. Lintone

    Lintone
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Thanks for bringing the unit back to the store for us to check. As we`ve checked your Arcam A75 out in the store using the AV loop, and found no buzzes/hum I`d suggest you check the interconnect leads. Never use cheap cables on good equipment!!!!!!! Also check the position of the Arcam and Pioneer in relationship to eachother. Components should not be stacked one on top of the other and sometimes re-arranging components on a stand can help. My thoughts are still with the interconnects though......

    Regards,

    Mark
     
  17. overfloe

    overfloe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Mark,

    Nice to see you here.. :smashin: when we got back we unplugged all connections on the receiver and connected them back one by one..
    the arcam buzzes when there are more than two inputs connected.. ie. when i use the receiver & amp with a cd player, no buzz.. but when i connected either Sky, TV or dvd player to the receiver, the buzz comes out.. this does not happen when i use my mate's nad, marantz & rotel amp. Interconnects used were Ixos gamma geometry & Atlas equator.. very odd.. but we have come to a conclusion that the arcam cannot be used with a receiver that have multiple inputs connected. we also tried it with a yamaha receiver.

    let me know when the nad titaniums are available ;)
     
  18. Lintone

    Lintone
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Give me a call as the NAD`s are available. 0191 4774167.

    Regards,

    Mark
     
  19. pwiles1968

    pwiles1968
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    773
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicestershire - England
    Ratings:
    +10
    Are all the units plugged into the same mains supply or extension block? You may be introducing earth loops if one or more of your bits of kit are plugged into different areas in the room, just an idea.
     
  20. lowrider

    lowrider
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    Ratings:
    +1
    I did have the "same" problem when I added powers to my system, all I had to do was disconnect the earth on the PCs...

    As I have 4 powers + 2 subwoofers, now I disconected it on the wall outlet, no more hum problems...
     
  21. overfloe

    overfloe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +0
    all units are plugged into the same mains supply..
    i have been told that the chassis of the pioneer 812 & arcam are not compatible.. that may have caused the buzz when the receiver are hooked with multiple inputs.. oh well :(
     
  22. wookie

    wookie
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :lesson: Try an earth strap (bit of speaker cable) between chassis.

    Connect both amps casework together.

    Should sort it out

    Have you tried this?

    Can sort out sub hums
     

Share This Page

Loading...