1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Received New Pioneer 434 HDE yesterday!

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Tacitus, Oct 26, 2003.

1. Tacitus

Tacitus

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +15
    I took delivery of the Pioneer 434HDE yesterday. I have to say it is one fantastic plasma. Even my mother-in-law thinks it is gorgeous. The pictures particularly with DVD are cinema like and sent shivers down my spine the first time I saw them. The menus are intuitive and simple to operate. I am absolutely made up with my decision to buy this over the Panny 6.

However I am a mere amateur in the home cinema world and I need some advice from the experts in connecting this beast up to my Arcam AV8 processor and to a Telewest Pace D4000 digital cable box. I am told that I should put the video signal into the AV8 so I can use its on screen displays and its switching capabilities. Unfortunately the Pace only has the following connections available:

Scart 1 (VCR): composite video in/out; RGB in
    Scart 2 (TV): composite video out; RGB out
    Antenna (RF input)
    TV (RF output)

I need some advice on the best connections to use where picture quality is the highest priority. As far as I can tell I have two options:

1.) Connect an "RGB only" scart to scart from the Telewest box directly to the Plasma, and somehow get a video and audio feed into the AV8 processor. I am not sure what the best way is to do this?? I have been advised that I may need to have a special cable made up.

or