1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

rear projection

Discussion in 'TVs' started by shaunthedude, Feb 16, 2002.

1. shaunthedude

shaunthedude

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey,

i just bought a panny RP tv which had a fantastic picture for about 2 hrs. It then went allsorts of colours so it went back for a replacement. All i want to know is. Can i buy a RP tv, plug it in and watch it without tweeking it for a no of years and still keep a super picture. Some threads on hear say that you have to keep ajusting the thing every couple of weeks. Im a complete novice when it comes to tvs so would I be better sticking to a normal tube set.

2. HBK757

HBK757
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    If your gonna be primarily watching DVD's then I prefer rear projection myself. Basically when you get the set the first thing you do is turn down the contrast down from the "torch" setting which the manifacturer set (usually maximum). Turning contrast down will help erradicate burn in and is the proper way to watch your tv.

When you get the set its perfectly safe to set contrast, brightness, colour, tint and sharpness. Use an Avia Video Essentials DVD to do this, its essential and well worth the $40 it costs from Amazon. As far as convergence goes you should let the set warm up for about an hour before adjusting convergence. There is then a "burn in" period of around 100 hours at which point you should only need to touch up convergence and then leave it pretty much permanantly. Doing all of this will get the optimum out of your RPTV.

Alternatively you can just leave all of this and you will still get an amazing picture, especially with DVD. But at the very least I would urge you to buy the Avia DVD. As I said it really is essential if you want to get the best out of your TV.