1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Realmagic Xcard out tommorow, anyone ordered one

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by zoolap, Mar 27, 2002.

  1. zoolap

    zoolap
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    594
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    I've noticed that the Realmagic Xcard is out tommorow, has anyone ordered one?

    Anyone know any more details? Any websites doing pre-release reviews?
     
  2. ROne

    ROne
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    780
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    i pre-ordered on but haven't had any indication of delivery yet.
     
  3. ian_guinan

    ian_guinan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +18
    Where did you order it?
    How much?

    (any idea if there are any current multi-region solutions for it?)

    Regards,
    Ian Guinan
     
  4. ROne

    ROne
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    780
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    I ordered it from sigmas online shop.

    although I've just had a mail to say it will be delayed by a couple of weeks.

    Don't now about the region lock depends on the OS. not to worried though.
     
  5. Hoglet

    Hoglet
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2001
    Messages:
    118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Ratings:
    +11
    ROne,

    According to the specs, DVD playback is limited to 480i, 576i and 480p. Isn't the lack of 720p support from DVD going to be a problem for you with your Toshiba MT7?

    I assume that the lack of 720p is for DVD licensing reasons, rather then technical ones. Is it just their DVD player software that is crippled, or is it the drivers as well (in the same way ATI are talking about crippling the component dongle for the 8500).

    Just interested...Have been following this component debacle for some time now.

    --- Dave
     
  6. dts_boy

    dts_boy
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester suburbs...
    Ratings:
    +145
    can anyone tell me what this means? i have just ordered a 8500 all in wonder and by the sounds of it is a component output?:confused:
     
  7. Hoglet

    Hoglet
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2001
    Messages:
    118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Ratings:
    +11
    My understanding is that at the launch of the 8500, ATI promised a DVI to component dongle would be available early 2002. It's not yet available. This dongle would not be a transcoder; instead the 8500 can output component video natively, it's just it appears on the DVI port, hence the need for the dongle.

    In addition, it now transpires that ATI (and other DVD licensees) are prevented under the terms of their license from producing products which output component video at anything higher than 480p. The reason for this is that the macrovision copy protection system is not specified yet for operation at 720p, hence the content would be easily copyable. This situation is something the DVD consortium is trying to prevent. In any event, Stephen Orr from ATI has stated his company's position here:

    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=107908

    Until the copy protection standards are agreed and rubber stamped by the DVD consortium, product manufactures are restricted in what they can legally offer. If they break the rules, they risk loosing their license to manufacture DVD compatible products. This is a risk few are prepared to take.

    --- Dave
     
  8. ROne

    ROne
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    780
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hoglet, yes this is a problem and when I originally ordered it the were saying on the website 720p output for DVD.

    And then as if by magic when they'd probably got a load of orders they omiited 720p from the final specs - I reckon there was a bit of twisting going on.

    However I have kept my order for the simple reasons:

    a) Its cheap

    b) It has a remote.

    c) I welcome the opportunity to have a play with
    a new graphics card especially with component out.

    d) who knows we may be able to get round the 720p
    problem.

    ROne.
     
  9. zoolap

    zoolap
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    594
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    Anyone got their x-cards yet and how are they on tv and pc. Mainly, what about multi-region? Does the old software work to use different regions?
     
  10. Dan5

    Dan5
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are people stil waiting for there X Card or do they have them now. I'm interested to see what people think of them.

    Dan
     
  11. zoolap

    zoolap
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    594
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    That's what i've been asking. ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...