1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

really thinking of buying a projector

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by jjcool, Aug 2, 2004.

1. jjcool

jjcool

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    at the moment i have a zenith 50" rptv,

im really thinking of buying a projector, but as ive never owned one im not 100% sure,

the things that really put me off projectors from what ive heard is:

to get a good picture you have to be in darkness, and also the prices of them lamps

is there any projector avalible with cheap replacment bulbs?

id would ideally like a 90" or 100" screen, but even then i heard viewing a 100" screen the picture would be very blocky?

im new to all this, but this is what i heard off a guy.

anyone comment?

2. Greg Hook

Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +7,490
    Was this guy a RPTV salesman??

Firstly projectors are best in darkness, some will still give a good picture in lighter rooms, but its not the sort of thing you will be able to watch in a room filled with bright sunshine. The important spec to look out for is the projectors ansi lumens figure. The higher this is the lighter the room can be before you can't see the image aswell.

Yes the lamps are expensive to replace, usually about £300. But most lamps with care will last about 2-3000 hours, I think?

My AE-100 projector gives an excellent picture and this has now been superceded by the AE-200,300,500 etc.
    I saw a demo of the AE-500 the other day and thought it was excellent. Very quiet too.