Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

really flat and wide movies

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by NaTT, Aug 27, 2004.

  1. NaTT

    NaTT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Abbots Langley
    Ratings:
    +77
    when playing from a HCPC (any DVD player) into the DVI input of my Pio 43MXE1. (1024*768)
    Now I know the screen doesn't have square pixels but this is a bit much!
    I'm typing away in windows right now and at least the screen is fully used.
    With widescreen DVDs only half the hight of the screen is used.
    My only screen settings are dot to dot and 4:3, the latter of which puts a prefectly scaled image of the movie in the centre of the screen but only using half the area.
    How do I fill the screen (perhaps at the expense of proper aspect ratio or some of the image)?

    My Component input allows a lot more screen options to fill the screen.
     
  2. Loafer316

    Loafer316
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    Natt what software are you using to play the dvds? before i wallmounted my mxe1 i had it hooked up to my pc. when play dvd's via zoomplayer i set it to anamorphic setting so the it would be stretced vertically and the screens own 16:9 shape would put it in the right aspect ratio.

    If using powerdvd i would set it so 'keep aspect ratio' was turned off and then it would look perfect on the screen.

    hope this helps, although i must add this was via the VGA input and not DVI.
     
  3. NaTT

    NaTT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Abbots Langley
    Ratings:
    +77
    cheers loffa,

    fwiw I created a new resolution in Theater Tek which fills the screen. Probably not "proper" but nocks spots of any HDMI fed screen I've ever seen.

    I tried the VGA input but that didn't allow stretching either.
     
  4. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +149
    NaTT

    The AR adjustments in TT are your best option. My preference is to leave narrow black bars top and bottom. Filling the screen vertically makes it look a bit overstretched to me. TT2 when it arrives in a week or so should be even better.

    BTW, are you using ffdshow with TT? Smartens up the PQ quite a bit. There's a whole section on using ffdshow on the TT forums.
     
  5. Loafer316

    Loafer316
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    Looks like i'll have to invest tin TT then!! tried messing arounf with Zoomplayer and couldn't really figure out the filters to use and how to compensate for the rectangular pixels etc...oh well all the fun in learning!!
     
  6. NaTT

    NaTT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Abbots Langley
    Ratings:
    +77
    nooo not using fddshow yet, I'll look into that thanks for the steer.
    now to sort out region free ness in TT. I'd not played any of my US discs on my PC before now. Appears my drive was region 2, so I've flashed it to 0, but WinXP pro is convinced I'm region 2. DVD genie isn't helping much either as it's adjustments to windows or TT don't seem to take....
     
  7. paul1672

    paul1672
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    norfolk
    Ratings:
    +46
    give dvd region-free a try.
    thats what i use for my htpc and theatertek
    works everytime.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice