Really basic question re:Sony STR-2400ES

uptown47

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a complete newbie with home theatres (in fact, this is my first). I have the following set up:
Home PC networked over ethernet to a Linkstation Pro.
A WD-TV Live box connected to the linkstation pro.
A Sony STR-2400ES connected to the WD-TV live box (via HDMI).
5.1 Jamo speakers and a Samsung 50" plasma TV connected to the Sony amp.

When I set it all up I was initially impressed with the sound quality (having never experienced 'surround sound' before) but over time it didn't quite seem right. I had set up the Sony by putting that little dongle thing at my sitting position and then playing the 'test sound' but when I played movies and tv programs (via the PC - which is the way we mostly view our media) then we both found it difficult to hear the dialogue. If we turned up the sound to hear the dialogue then the explosions etc were far too loud.

I eventually went into the settings on the amp and manually altered all the db levels of all the speakers to try and route the most volume through the front speakers and less out of the back.

This seemed to help with the dialogue but the 'surround' effect wasn't very good.

I have lived with it like this for about 3 months now but (due to a problem with the WD-TV box locking up sometimes whilst 'paused') I was messing with the settings last night and found a setting on the WD-TV box under audio that was either: Stereo / Digital pass through / Digital pass through with optical.

It was set to 'stereo'. Am I right in thinking that all the things I've been playing up to now have just been stereo sound then and not split into the proper 5.1 channels ??

Assuming that is the case, is it better sound with Digital pass through with or without using an optical lead ?