Readynas duo problems

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by blackcabmal, Dec 27, 2011.

  1. blackcabmal

    blackcabmal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello all,
    I have a readynas duo connected to a switch which in turn is connected to the netgear router.I have a small network with 2 iMacs a pc and an iPad on wireless,also a popcorn hour.
    anyway the problem i have is that on occasion i cannot access my Nas,just does not show in finder and despite reboot router, Nas and computer,nothing.
    Just occurred again and went awol for 4 days then hey presto it just shows up again.
    I have the ip address of all machines set as a preferred ip address on router,(not static).

    any help much appreciated

    Murray
     
  2. ukprometheus

    ukprometheus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    926
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +83
    start by setting the MAC address as fixed via the router and check to make sure you are running the latest firmware :p
    sounds like it could be an IP clash
     
  3. blackcabmal

    blackcabmal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    When you say mac address fixed do you mean ip address,I have been trying this but always ends with a message saying invalid ip address i.e in the router ip section.
    thanks for the reply

    Murray
     
  4. ukprometheus

    ukprometheus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    926
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +83
    sorry it was late and i was tired :D yes i meant the IP not the mac.
    if its saying invalid IP then your entering it in the wrong format i would think :p
    what router you got ???
     
  5. Matt_C

    Matt_C
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    9,622
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,578
    Look up the MAC address of the NAS, then within the DHCP, you can reserve an IP address (for example, if the router is 192.168.1.1, set the NAS as 1.2) and tell it to reserve it for that MAC address. Everything will be assigned IP address on a need-to basis via DHCP, but the NAS should remain assigned to that reserved address
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice