Re Recordable Media

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by transwest, Sep 13, 2004.

1. transwest

transwest

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    I have never used a DVD Recorder before & am just awaiting delivery of a Panasonic E55 (along with Tosh ZP48) from JL :clap: . I just looked on their site for ReRecordable Media,,,, & was almost about to order a TDK double sided RAM disc @ £9-95.
    After a quick glimpse at this Forum, I thought that I’d ask for advice here first.
    I don’t intend, at the moment, to actually keep much recording,,, hence ReWritable,,, I do though, want decent quality,,, but cost is also important to me.
    I have a few questions I’m afraid.
    1/ What is the ultimate quality disc that I ought to consider (for things that I do want to keep ?
    2/ What make/model/size ‘multi-purpose’ disc I ought to consider, where cost/quality ratio is important ?
    3/ Should I use only RAM discs on this machine ?
    4/ I also have a Tosh E220 player. Is there a media that I can record on using the E55, to play on the E220 ?
    5/ Where can I find out the difference / pros’n’cons between DVD-R,,, DVD+R,,, RAM etc ?
    Please also recommend a supplier of anything that you advise,,, as I am in the far South West of Cornwall I will probably have to Mail Order stuff.
    My initial purchases will rely directly on comments here, so please feel free to throw any advice in as well please.
    many thanks
    TranswesT

2. apreading

apreading

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +15
    If you want the ultimate then get a (Verbatim my recommendation) RAM disc in a caddy - they are expensive though.

If you dont want a caddy based disc then the ultimate in my opinion is the Panasonic 4.7Gb discs (£12 for 5 from 7dayshop.com or £13 from panasonic eshop). Much cheaper than the one you refer to!