1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Re-install of HTPC with MCE 2005

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by sapper, Feb 11, 2005.

  1. sapper

    sapper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southgate, North London
    Ratings:
    +141
    A7N8X-E Deluxe motherboard, AMD Athlon XP3000 and 1GB of Crucial DDR400 Memory
    Sapphire Radeon 9600 AGP X8 256MB DDR DVI TV-Out Retail Box
    80GB Hard Drive, 250 GB Mirror array
    Liteon 16x48 IDE DVD-ROM Drive
    Nebula DigiTV Card
    Black Gold DigiTV Card MCE
    MCE 2005
    Pioneer 433MXE Plasma (DVI) and a Samsung LCD flat screen (VGA; Samsung set as primary)


    Having read numerous threads regarding MCE 2005, codecs etc etc etc, I am tempted to reinstall my MCE after a reformat.

    If I do, what software should I install, and in what order.

    My plan is:

    • Install MCE having reformated the hard drive, and set up network conections
    • Install motherbaord related stuff SATA RAId info, network etc.
    • Install Graphic card and update drivers from ATI web site together with installing the Samsung monitor software. Then connect Plasma via DVI and set up the graphics
    • Carry out an MCE windows upgrade
    • Install Gold DigiTV card and software
    • Install HTP recomended software including Codecs, any suggestions as towhat software i should purchase download. Cyberlink powerdvd6 seems to be popualr
    • Install Hauppauge PVR 150 Card and software...
    • Install other relevant software (MS OFFICe etc)

    Have I missed anyhting? I am hoping to obtain a clean system with minimal hassles. Should change the order for anyhitng?


    Adrian
     
  2. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,860
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +365
    Hi,

    That's a top spec system you have there, I hope you will be playing some games on it/editing films and not just using it as a HTPC, otherwise all that power may be sitting idle a lot of the time?

    I have MCE2005 and re-installed two or three times before I got it right.

    Basically all that you said sounds good, apart from installing codecs and drivers, this is where MCE is very fussy. I use the following codecs and it is really working well at the mo, playing every video file I ask of it. I have heard that keeping the PC as 'vanilla' as possible is the way to go, so only install drivers / progs that you really need.

    I would do this,

    Re-format the hard drive and do a clean install of XP MCE edition 2005 (2 discs)
    Apply SP2 if you need to (sorry, can't remember if that is included or not)
    Install anti-virus software
    Set up your internet connection (and network if needed)
    Go online, update the anti-virus software and get windows updates,
    Check in device manager if you need any other drivers,
    If you do go to the manufacturers website and download latest versions,
    Remember to use MCE versions if available (especially with graphics card)
    Then install these progs:-
    PowerDVD 6 (MCE2005) version
    Latest Xvid codec from their website
    AC3 filter from the website (sourceforge?)
    A DVD region free prog like DVD Idle Pro
    Also Microsoft Anti-Spyware is recommended from Microsoft - free at the mo,

    That is basically all you need for a HTPC,
    Well, all I need anyway,

    good luck
    lisa
     
  3. sapper

    sapper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southgate, North London
    Ratings:
    +141

    Thank you Lisa for your help.

    I will wait a while I think before I do this, make sure all my technical quereis are sorted out first especially to vhs/DVD capture.

    After all a re-install can take a day from start including down loading times and switching the thing back on after a restart .....
     
  4. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,860
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +365
    I agree, it is not something to start unless you have loads of free time.

    I made some assumptions about the codecs,
    This is for playing back films that have been encoded using Divx and Xvid codecs and AC3 audio codecs, you may not need them. PowerDVD6 already has Divx decoding support.
     

Share This Page

Loading...