1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Re Hitachi 28LD5200 advice please.

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by Taz69, Mar 28, 2005.

  1. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +54
    Hiya all

    It seems that the 28LD5200 is a good buy at present, however Ihave a couple of questions regarding this and other lcds.

    1. does the 28LD5200 do 720p@50Hz via its DVI socket with HDCP making it compatible for Sky HD etc ?

    2, in general for LCDS in particular the 28LD5200, according to Hitachi's site it says it is a 16:9 screen, however I have seen somewhere that 1280x768 makes it a 15:9 screen, is this correct ? if so is it something to worry about for viewing DVDS etc.

    Thanks

    Taz :hiya:
     
  2. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +54
    up we go.

    Taz
     
  3. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +54
    can anyone advise please, I am looking at getting one, just want to make sure about the 2 questions above.

    thanks

    Taz
     
  4. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +54
    specs taken from the website:

    WSS 16:9, C16:9 (Letterbox), T16:9L, C14:9L, T14:9L, 14:9, 14:9 Zoom, 4:3, Panoramic

    Input Signal Format

    Component 480i, 480p, 576i, 575p, 720p, 1080i (50/60)
    Composite/S-Video PAL / SECAM / NTSC3.58 / NTSC4.43 / PAL60
    RBG Normal Video RGB (50/60)

    But in the PDF manual it doesnt say anything about 720p@50Hz only 1080i@50Hz the manual also says its a 16:9 but the 1280x720 res says its a 15:9 according to the thread about HDTV LCDS

    which is right, lol

    Taz
     
  5. sn00p

    sn00p
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +54
    Snoop it has a DVI which is supposed to be HDCP aswell,

    Comet never gets things right, lol, hence why I am asking the guys on here. I am sure someone will be along in amo, like a bus, they will all come along at once, after they finish work etc.

    Taz
     
  7. jtf

    jtf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    colchester
    Ratings:
    +7
    i was interested in this aswell. on the hitachi website it says its HDCP through its dvi but it only says 720p but not at what refresh rate unlike the 1080i where it says it will do this at 50/60hz
     
  8. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +54
    I just seen that aswell m8, lol, not even Hitachi know what they are selling, lol, what hope has the rest of us got.

    Taz
     
  9. jtf

    jtf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    colchester
    Ratings:
    +7
    lokked at the instruction manual on-lin, plenty of reference to 720p@60hz but none on 720p@50hz. i think we are out of luck on this one as none of the 5200 plasma's do 720p@50hz
     
  10. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +54
    yeah I seen that also m8, however the chap on the hitachi help line says it will do 50Hz but then again the guy I was emailing this afternoon said it wasnt HDCP, he has now gone off to speak to a Techie about the specs, lol, was hoping someone who has a 28LD5200 can confirm it does or it doesnt.

    Taz
     
  11. crazyswede

    crazyswede
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +0
    One idea is to go into richersounds and ask them to try.... they will probably be glad to help ... you never know :)
     
  12. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +54
    Decisions Decisions, I am off to JL to have a look at what they have got, not sure about the Hitachi now due to the 15:9 screen, may have alook at the Sharp LC26GA4E then see what I can find it for on the net price wise then get JL to pm that, anyone know the cheapest price or what to go for, I have a Tevion 27" at the mo, but the lack of 720p@50Hz is making me wonder.

    Taz
     
  13. sn00p

    sn00p
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey Taz, did tech support confirm the HDCP support? (May be ordering one myself)
     
  14. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +54
    not yet m8, been out today to JL, the lcd is now £999 at Cribbs JL, still trying to make my mind up, lol, not sure about the 15:9 as they didnt have a dvd player attached to it, only a FV box

    Taz
     
  15. sideysid

    sideysid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +31
  16. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +54
    Hi m8, I have it pricematched at JL for £799, its just this 15:9 screen thing that is bugging me, not sure if I am going to be happy with it, according to hitacji's site it is HDCP via DVI.
    still confused, lol

    Taz
     
  17. jay.dee

    jay.dee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  18. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +54
    cheers m8, seems to have a fair review, should I be worried about the 15:9 screen or not ?

    Taz
     
  19. flangemonkey

    flangemonkey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    250
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Did you not get my reply to your e-mail? I answered your concerns with 15:9. I also posted identical information in the main Hitachi 28LD5200 thread...there's no real need to start another thread...

    On the subject of 720p at 50Hz, Hitachi's 55" plasma screen is classed as HDTV ready on the basic blurb on their website, yet the connections are identical to that of the 28" LCD...I had a good read through the manual for the 55" and it reads almost identically to the 28LD5200's manual...almost all of the same resolutions and refresh rates are supported, similarly like the manual for the 28", the 55" manual fails to mention 720p at 50Hz, yet the feature list on the front page classes the set as "HDTV Ready": http://www.hitachidigitalmedia.com/DMG/viewProduct_1.jsp?productid=359&drilldown=1&urlnumber=0
     
  20. sn00p

    sn00p
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  21. flangemonkey

    flangemonkey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    250
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    What the hell does that mean "It only has a DVI input"?

    That makes no sense! HDTV can be definitely be fed via DVI! Plus, that's what Sky's HD box WILL offer when they launch!

    It has DVI (which is def. HDCP-capable) 15-pin D-Sub, 2xcomponent, SCART, S-Video and composite amongst others.

    It DOES display 720p at 60hz, and also DOES display 1080i at both 50 and 60hz...

    To be honest, I wouldn't trust RS to know what they're talking about....only Hitachi themselves know the answer, and the general customer service people have no clue (I've already tried) If someone can get a contact in their technical dept. then we might be able to find out once and for all, but definitely don't go taking ANY retailers' words (especially RS or Comet et al.) as verbatim...

    The only question mark left is 720p @ 50Hz...the Australian variant the 28LD5000TA (to all intents and purposes is identical to the EMEA 28LD5200) also says on their website that the set is HDTV Ready...
     
  22. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +54
    Hi FM, I did get your email m8, many thanks, I am still undecided if to get the Hitachi or not, I think I will need to get one hooked up to a dvd player at JL's and have a play, I have emailed Hitachi Tech to see about the 720p@50 matter, upto now no response. will post asap

    Taz
     
  23. flangemonkey

    flangemonkey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    250
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Cool...let us know how you get on. I didn't get much success from Hitachi! They told me to just look at the manual, or their website....it was hard getting a definitive answer from them....

    I've been looking to see if I can find a service manual online to see if that offers any further joy, and also to see if there's a setting to remove the horizontal black bars when setting the Wide mode to "Standard" as opposed to "Fill"...no joy as of yet!
     
  24. jtf

    jtf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    colchester
    Ratings:
    +7
    just phoned jl to get a price match against RS so i will have to wait at least 3 days for them to say yes or no but i think i will go for this one anyway. if you think about it HD isn't going to take off over night, in 5 years time something better will be out which we will all want, by then everything will be HD ready and then the kids can have a 28" lcd in their bedroom for the PS4 or whatever will be out then.
    another thing does this lcd have a pc input
     
  25. flangemonkey

    flangemonkey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    250
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yep. Read 3 posts up. It has both DVI and regular analogue 15-pin VGA inputs.
     
  26. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +54
    what confuses me about the specs is that it can do 1080i at 50Hz so why can't it do 720p at 50Hz, i have emailed Hitachi again to chase em.

    Taz
     
  27. jtf

    jtf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    colchester
    Ratings:
    +7
    tried to phone hitachi but only got a voice mail box, will try again soon
     
  28. jtf

    jtf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    colchester
    Ratings:
    +7
    anyone got any news?
     
  29. jtf

    jtf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    colchester
    Ratings:
    +7
    after emailing hitachi they relpied by saying to look in the instruction manual and provided a link to a page on their website. got a bit fed up with it all so went out and bought a PLASMA
     
  30. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +54
    Hi guys, just got back from a weekend away, got a email from Hitachi saying :

    Dear Sir/Madam,

    Thank you for your email.

    The LCD TV with 720p50Hz is the 32LD7200. hope this helps.

    I apologise for any inconvenience or dissatisfaction this matter may have caused you but trust that the above information has helped to clarify the situation.

    Regards

    Consumer Affairs Team
    Hitachi (Europe) Ltd
    England, UK.


    So it looks like it doesnt, lol

    Taz
     

Share This Page

Loading...