1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RD50 colour balance

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Chris5, Dec 17, 2004.

  1. Chris5

    Chris5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Herts., uk
    Ratings:
    +122
    Hi,
    I'm having problems with getting realistic colours with my RD50.

    The set has a very cold feel (whites are blue-ish) and skin tones are quite red, images have a green tinge to them on some tv programs, but not on others, in otherwords the RGB Drive and Cuttoffs need adjusting, I was able to do this for my old Toshiba 46wh08 through the engineering menu.

    does anyone know the engineering modes for these optima/axium sets to adjust this.

    I suspect no one knows yet because these sets are so new, but I thought I would ask anyway.

    Thanks

    Chris
     
  2. GID

    GID
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have also noticed that in dimly lit scenes blue textures have a banding effect and there is also very noticable halo effects neither of which I cant get rid of by adjusting the colour settings. I have tried adjusting the blue to 6 but I am still getting unrealistic skin tones.
     
  3. GID

    GID
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    After 4 days setting up and adjusting I also have 2 dead pixels this happen to anyone else so far ?
     
  4. Chris5

    Chris5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Herts., uk
    Ratings:
    +122
    I dont have any banding effects, and Optima have a zero tolerence with pixels, so you might be able to get it swapped out
     
  5. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,545
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,498
    Tell me your settings and I will check mine (I have an RD65). I know I turned the intensity up by 2 to (17) and the contrast is down to 8 or 9. I found all the backs were loosing their detail if I had it any higher. These are for my sky plus box via RGB. I left all the red, green and blue alone.
     
  6. Chris5

    Chris5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Herts., uk
    Ratings:
    +122
    I've been all around the houses, at one stage I had
    Cont = 5
    Bright = 6
    Col = 12
    Intens=15
    ICCY (whatever that is) = 10
    Gammea = 1
    everything else at default

    but I went back to basics and finally settled for
    Cont = 26,
    Bright = 16
    Col = 12
    Intens=12
    ICCY (again, whatever that is) = 16
    Gammea = 1

    Does intensity change the brightness of the lamp,or is it just another contrast type thing?

    dont forget the RD65 is bigger (larger screen to illuminate), so may require higher intensity or something compared to my rd50
     
  7. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,545
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,498
    Mine are different from yours I just checked them out.

    cont = 8
    Bright = 17
    Col = 15
    Intens=17
    tinit=15
    Sharpness=16
    Gamma = 0
    Neutral setting

    everything else at default

    It took a few days to get to these settings.
     
  8. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,545
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,498
    Chris, The intensity turns the power of the bulb up, giving you a more intense picture.

    I notice your contrast is really high, find a dark scence in a film and pause it, turn the contrast down. Do you notice alot more detail in the black areas? ie. 'folds in a black suit', 'or objects in a dark room'. If so your contrast is probably too high. If your still not happy get a test disc like

    http://shop.store.yahoo.com/dvdinternational/dve-info.html

    DVD essentials
     
  9. Chris5

    Chris5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Herts., uk
    Ratings:
    +122
    I think I have resolved my colour issue now more-or-less by setting the brightness option on my sky+ box to maximum, the greeny look that you sometimes get seems to have now been banished, and Outdoor scenes are now amazing, almost as bright as real life, much better than any plasma I have seen. Apart from the fan noise, it can not be faulted.
     
  10. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,545
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,498
    Pleased to hear that Chris. :)
     
  11. Chris5

    Chris5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Herts., uk
    Ratings:
    +122
    Thanks Razor. sky+ looks better than DVD now ... which is ....er.... not right ..er :rolleyes:
     
  12. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,545
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,498
    LOL... No thats not right. What DVD player are you using? I have 2 and the difference between them is very noticable.
     
  13. Chris5

    Chris5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Herts., uk
    Ratings:
    +122
    To be fair to my 868, Sky only looks better because it goes brighter. Obviously dvd is less pixelated and more detailed.
     
  14. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,545
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,498
    Have you tried messing around with the settings on the 868 (pic memory settings). You probably know this but the RD50/65 stores settings for each input seperately. So effectively each input channel's settings are different.
     
  15. Chris5

    Chris5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Herts., uk
    Ratings:
    +122
    I've set it as best I can my RD50 also stores seperate settings for each hdmi input resolution you use as well! I'm sure I'll get there in the end
     
  16. Saxman

    Saxman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Found 2 dead pixels on the screen .Does Optoma send an engineer or a new set?
    Otherwise very happy with picture and sound.
    Also how do I get HDMI to work .I have a Samsung HD 745 DVD player
     
  17. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,545
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,498
    Get it changed saxman, the warranty will cover it. The HDMi is inputed through an adapter which I still havent received, you can buy one from Keene electronics for around £10.
     
  18. Saxman

    Saxman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Razor
    Happy New Year :smashin:
     
  19. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,545
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,498
    Same to you Saxman :clap:
     
  20. Chris5

    Chris5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Herts., uk
    Ratings:
    +122
    Happy New year Razor and Saxman (I was feeling left out :( ;) )
     
  21. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,545
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,498
    LOL... You too Chris. Every one have a good New Year.
     

Share This Page

Loading...