1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RD-XS32 Online Manual Started

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by nabulldog, Jan 10, 2005.

  1. nabulldog

    nabulldog
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is a supplement to the Toshiba RD-XS32's Owners Manual.

    The intent of this thread is to reduce the learning curve.

    The manual will be updated as I go thru the learning process and as I get suggestions and/or corrections.

    CONTENTS
    COMPATIBLE DVD Media
    RECORDING the SOURCE
    CHAPTER EDITING
    CHAPTER BREAK EDITING
    PLAYLIST CREATING
    ADDING CHAPTERS from OTHER TITLES
    GETTING RID of UNWANTED CHAPTERS in the PLAYLIST
    CHANGING the PLAYLIST TITLE NAME
    CHANGING THUMB NAIL(PICTURE)
    MAKING AN ORIGIONAL FROM A PLAYLIST
    CREATING a DVD
    MORE VIDEO than DISK SPACE​

    COMPATIBLE DVD Media: Reference Pg 9 of Manual

    DVD –RW, stick with 2x

    TDK (1x-2x) Scratch-Proof
    Verbatim
    Memorex 2X​

    DVD –R

    Ritek Ridata G03 (Surface Color: Matted Silver/Purple Bottom), 1x
    Ritek G04/G05 datawrite titanium
    Datawrite Grey (8x), Red (4x), Yellow(4x)
    Verbatim 4x, 8x
    Bulkpaq Orange 4x​


    Everything done by the remote unless otherwise stated

    RECORDING the SOURCE

    1. Select the video input: Use the “Input Selection” button
    located at the botton right hand coner.

    2. Select “HDD” : Located in the Upper Left quadrant.

    3. Adjust if neccessary, your record video levels.
    - Either; Open Lower Flap and Push “Setup” or Push "Easy Navi" then select Setup from the screen menu
    - Use arrow keys to slide to the Image with a disc(DVD Recorder Operation)
    - Use arrow keys to scroll down to “Picture Record Mode”. Pg 161 of Manual
    - Set mode which best suites your video source in order to get the best picture you can.

    4. Push “Quick Menu” button and select “AV Record Quality”

    5. Select Video and Audio Bit rate. Reference Pg33 and 161 of Manual.

    Websit to Aid in choosing a Bit Rate: http://www.mediachance.com/dvdlab/tutorial/bitrate.html

    I set mine up for 6Mbps/M2(around 90 min record time).
    You can “Rate Conversion Dubbing” ,Pg 112, later if you need to fit more than 90 min.

    6. Go to the start of your video.

    7. Push “Rec”: Located Mid Left

    8. Push play on your video source.

    9. After Video Source Finishied:
    - Push “Stop”: Located around “Rec” button
    - You now have a Title Orgional which is named with Date Time ect.​

    CHAPTER EDITING

    1. Push “Content Menu”: Upper Right of Arrow Keys
    - The screen shows you what Titles and Playlist you have created

    2. If you have more than one Title you will have to use the arrow keys to navigate to the Title you want to
    chapter divide. A Green Outline in used to show you which Title you are working on.
    3. Push “Quick Menu”: Above Flap on right, button marked with a 2.

    4. Scroll down to “Chapter Function” then “Chapter Editing”. Pg 91 of Manual
    Just a suggestion: Push Play then Pause.​

    CHAPTER BREAK EDITING

    If you need to make cuts at the “Chapter Breaks” Reference Pg 93 of Manual.

    “by frame(VR Mode)" : Use if contents will be copied on to HDD or DVD-RAM.
    “GOP (Video Mode)”: Use if contents will be copied to DVD –R/RW.

    “Frame Scroll” – frame by frame movement; located above the Pause button.
    “Skip” – Used to skip back and forth to hapters
    “Picture Search” – Same as fast forward or rewind

    5. Around the point at which you want to start a NEW chapter, Push "Pause" then use "Frame Scroll " to get
    to the exact frame where you want to start the new chapter.

    6. Push “Enter” to create the chapter divide. You can also use “Chp Divide” if you want.
    Note: Keep in mind you need to make chapters of stuff you DON'T want in your final video.

    7. Repeat steps 5 and 6 until finished.

    8. Save your chapters, ref to Pg 92

    PLAYLIST CREATING

    Before I start this section, I like to clear the screen so I know where I am.

    Note: Pushing any button twice appears to be like ON/OFF.
    This will help in clearing the screen.

    Now, you have a Title(Org) which contains Chapters(Org).

    To get to the PlayList “Edit Menu”, Pg 95 of Manual or

    1. Push “Content Menu” and select your Title(if done here it will automatically be selected in step 5)

    2. Push “Edit Menu” Pg 118 of Manual

    3. Scroll Down to “PlayList Editing”

    4. You are now at Step 5 Pg 96 of Manual

    5. Move to a Title which contains a chapter you want to add to your PlayList.

    6. Press Star button(blue) to see chapters. The button is located next to “Rec”
    Note: Star Button shows chapters created in the selected Title.

    7. Move to the chapter you want to insert.

    8. Press “Enter”: A red bar appears at the bottom.

    9. If you press “Enter” a 2nd time the chapter will be entered into your playlist.

    Note: When the Red Bar appears you can use the left and right arrow keys to move it. Your chapter will be
    put in placed of the Red Bar.​

    ADDING CHAPTERS from OTHER TITLES

    10. Repeat step 6. This toggles between viewing Chapters and Titles.

    11. Repeat steps 5 thru 10. Skip this step after you get your Playlist.

    12. PlayList Finished, Save. Pg 97 of Manual.

    13. Press “Edit Menu” to close “Edit Menu”.​


    GETTING RID of UNWANTED CHAPTERS in the PLAYLIST

    1. Push “Content Menu” and select your Title (if done here it will automatically be selected in step 4)

    2. Push “Edit Menu” Pg 118 of Manual.

    3. Scroll Down to and select “Del Selected Items”.

    4. Select your PlayList Title.

    5. Switch to Chapters View(the star toggles) of the Title in step 4

    6. Select the unwanted chapter

    7. Hit “Enter” until it appear in the lower half of the screen

    8. Repeat Steps 6 and 7 until finished. Use up Arrow to back to chapters.

    9. Use down arrows to highlight the start button

    10. Hit “Enter”, ask if you want to confirm

    11. Use arrows to highlight Yes

    12. “Enter”​

    CHANGING the PLAYLIST TITLE NAME

    1. Reference Pg 98 of Manual, Right Side of page, 2nd Subject.

    2. Push “Content Menu” and select your PlayList Title

    3. Push “Edit Menu” Pg 118 of Manual.

    4. Scroll Down to and select “PlayList Editing”.

    5. Select the PlayList Title you want to change the name of

    6. Press “Enter” until it appears in the lower half of the screen

    7. Using down arrow key get the Cursor in the botton of the screen

    8. Push “Quick Menu” and select “Edit title name”

    9. Keyboard appears: Enter the new name

    10. Exit: Now the Changed name shows up in the “Content Menu”.

    CHANGING THUMB NAIL(PICTURE)

    1. Reference Pg 100 of Manual​

    MAKING AN ORIGIONAL FROM A PLAYLIST

    NOTE: The New Original will have your Title after this step

    1. Reference Pg 106 of Manual. I copy from HDD to HDD​

    CREATING a DVD

    1. Reference Pg 123 of Manual. I burned mine with these instructions and had no problems.

    I use Ritek DVD-r media and have had no problems recording or Playing Back the media in a Koss, Apex or Toshiba(vhs/dvd). So far the recorded DVDs play in everything I put them in.

    I am not sure what the difference is from the instructions starting on Pg 123 and Pg 132. Mine finalized
    on its own using Pg 123's instructions.​

    MORE VIDEO than DISK SPACE

    1. Reference Pg 112 of Manual.
    If you are wanting to make a DVD, I would suggest rate converting the Titles you want on to the HDD, then follow the instruction on Pg 123 of the Manual.

    Use the “Frame/Adjust” button (above Pause) to switch between Rates. As you switch, the amount of record time(bottom of screen) goes up and down.

    If your video is 90 min long it will take that long to complete the “Rate Conversion Dubbing”.

    I tried the instructions for “Multiple Parts”,Pg 114, and end up with the video on the DVD, but it did not have the menus or nice features which I get using Pg 123's instructions.

    I converted from 6Mbps to the SP(4.6Mbps) and cannot see any difference in video quality between the Rate Converted and the Origional.
     
  2. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Stage 3 of recording the source can be doneby quickmenu without having to use setup.

    Setup can also be accessed from easy nav. This minimises "flap" wear :)
     
  3. AVFan7667

    AVFan7667
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think what we need is a list of topics to cover and then people who want to contribute can choose one to write. That way it won't get too messy.

    I'll post a list of things I found tricky when I get home from work tonight.

    As well as a friendly manual I wonder if an up-to-date buyers guide for the XS32 would be of use. I know there is a huge review thread, but a lot of people will be put off reading the entire review because of it's sheer imensity. Just something that summarises the features etc. Maybe with some user ratings of features.
     
  4. AVFan7667

    AVFan7667
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quick list while they are fresh in my head:

    • What media brands/speeds work the best and which don't (and where is the best/cheapest place to get them)
    • Editing adverts/unwanted sections out - in particular GOPs to make it flawless when written to -R/RW in video-mode.
    • STB codes not documented in the manual
    • Setting timed recordings to change the STB channel
    • Best bit-rates to use for different types of recording without loss of quality (ie VHS to DVD, Digital Cable to DVD)
     
  5. nabulldog

    nabulldog
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    1. I am using Riteks(DVD - r). I have yet to find anything they don't work in.

    2. I am not sure why you would use GOP in lieu of FRAME.
    I edit frame by frame. GOP is by time. From a previous post, someone wrote that GOP jumps by 11 frames per 1/2sec.

    3&4. STB, I looked in the manual and could not find a reference to what this is. Could you elaborate(spell it out)?

    5. I couldn't get a straight answer on this either. Review the first topic of my post. I inserted a web link that might help you decide.
     
  6. AVFan7667

    AVFan7667
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I already know the answers to these questions, they are suggestions of questions we might want to answer for newcommers. I think those of us who have found out should let others know as not all these were immediately obvious to me.

    With regards to GOP. (as I discovered) if you use cut on a specific frame and then burn to -R finalised. The cuts jump by upto the 11 frames to the nearest GOP. Because video-mode uses GOPs and not frames. If you want to ensure a 100% accurate cut you have to use GOPs when setting the cuts up. I have tried this and it is true.
     
  7. nabulldog

    nabulldog
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have only been doing this for about a week, so I guess I fall into the newbee category.

    If I understand you correctly in ref. to GOP.
    If I use the frame by frame method of splicing chapter divideds into a playlist, when it is played back(talking about a burnt dvd-r), the next 11 frames after my chapter divides are not seen?

    For visual Clarity:

    Chapter Divide using "Frame by Frame"
    f234 Chapter divide f1f2.....f300

    PlayBack DVD-r: "GOP": f234 Chapter divide f11f12....f300


    Chapter Divide using "GOP":
    f234 Chapter divide f1f2.....f300

    PlayBack DVD-r: "GOP": f234 Chapter divide f1f2.....f300

    Am I visualising this correctly?
     
  8. AVFan7667

    AVFan7667
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    See y previous thread (http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=172209) where it all started to make sense to me.

    I have tried both ways and I am 100% certain that using frame-by-frame leaves erroneous frames in the finalised -R/RW. But using GOPs has eliminated that problem completely. Yes, you potentially lose 1/2 second of something (which can be a big pain) but it's better than having an advert snippet in there.
     
  9. nabulldog

    nabulldog
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    When you chapter divide; do you set your mode up for GOP, then do the chapter divides?

    Under what conditions would you use "Frame by Frame" in lieu than GOP(Group of Pictures)?
     
  10. AVFan7667

    AVFan7667
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I set GOP on first, though you don't have to. I do it that way because then I mark the chapter and immediately adjust the GOP, rather than mark all the chapters and then go back and GOP them all.

    From my brief understanding of it, frame-by-frame is only of use when using VR mode (either hard disk or RAM) which is why it looks fine on hard disk when you preview it, and GOP is needed if writing in video mode to -R or -RW.

    Of course normal chapter marks are fine without GOP, it's only if you plan on cutting at the chapter marks that GOP is needed.

    It is a pain in the a*se, and I have a few of my first -Rs with these odd frames in I didn't want. Since using GOP though everything is perfect.
     
  11. nabulldog

    nabulldog
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    During playback of your finished video, do you get a slight delay at the point where your "Chapter Divides" are located?

    I am not missing any video, however there is a slight freeze frame(delay) on the last frame before the chapter divide and the 1st frame of the next chapter. Is this normal? I thought it would have been seamless(no delay). It also occurs on my hard drive as well.
     
  12. AVFan7667

    AVFan7667
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Only on the chapters where I have made cuts. Then yes, there is a slight pause. Sometimes more noticeable than others. From talking to others on here it's normal.
     
  13. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Someone analysed this and the tosh adds a flag for a layer change hence pause.

    But if you want that "special" perfect recording, get it on the PC.

    Thats where I did my Max and Paddy :)
     
  14. dood

    dood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    943
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hobart
    Ratings:
    +38
    I don't bother with frame chapter divisions. I simply allow the title to play and press chapter divide where I feel it's appropriate. How do I know if it is dividing at that frame or GOP? Where can I adjust this default setting?

    My undersanding from what I've read on these forums regarding the pause between chapters is that this only occurs if chapter deletions are made on the original. If chapter deletions are made on playlists and the edited playlist is then burnt to DVD the pauses do not occur. Is this correct? After reading about disc fragmentation, I don't edit originals, only playlists. I do however insert chapter divisions on the originals to make playlist creation easy.
     
  15. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    If you are on HDD and you chapter divide, its in VR mode,it will appear where you put it.

    You cant set gop mode by default. Its a quick menu option in chapter editing.

    The pause occurs when any 2 sequences that were not origanally sequential are put together. Regardless of wether you use play lists or not!
     
  16. Zasu Pitts

    Zasu Pitts
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :hiya: So if two chapters were not originally sequential there will be a pause? I tell you I just edited some video tape and took out unwanted parts, put it all together and I have the pause. My main problem is that I am so anal I am going to try and find a way around this. Any help out there? Thanks
     
  17. AVFan7667

    AVFan7667
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess the only way around it will be to try and edit on a PC where you have a lot more control over everything.
     
  18. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +621
    A tip I just discovered:

    You’ve probably noticed that when you delete a title from the Content Menu, it takes you out of the menu, and you have to come back in. Annoying if you want to delete a bunch of titles.

    I’ve found if you delete them via the “Easy Nav” menu, this works much better for deleting multiple options. It stays in the same menu, and you can scroll through the titles and press delete to delete the ones you want.

    Mark
     
  19. SDHoward

    SDHoward
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    250
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks.. it is quite anoying being thrown out. If I have a large number of titles to delete I sometimes do it via the edit menu... but you have to be very carefull there as it isn't quite as easy to idnetify the title
     
  20. Zasu Pitts

    Zasu Pitts
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought at one time that after I edited I merged all the chapters and created chapters again. This may have removed that pause. I'll try again and see what that does.
     
  21. skyline32

    skyline32
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    75
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What about a "known bugs" section? Here's a few starters:

    - despite having SCART connectors, which are not used in the USA, the onscreen text uses American English rather than British English.

    - when you finalise, the last message is "shut down after formatting complete", rather than "shut down after finalising complete"

    - when doing a rate-conversion dub, the widescreen setting of the AV1 scart no longer follows that of the AV2 scart, but rather that of the programme being dubbed.

    - if you try to finalise when you have got the HDD selected it says you have to select the DVD first. Why, since you can't "finalise" a HDD, do you have to do that?

    - you can't delete a title from the HDD while another is being recorded.

    - when you record a program using the Digibox control (ie S101 for BBC1) it doesn't include the program name with the recorded program, just "AV2", so it's not clear from the Content Menu what the recorded channel was.

    jim
     

Share This Page

Loading...