1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RCVDS Quad Vs. RCVDS 4 Quad

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by JMPremier, Oct 18, 2004.

  1. JMPremier

    JMPremier
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is the difference between the two of them?
    Which is better?
    Do they do anything other than make it easier to connect multi sources to the PJ?

    John
     
  2. JMPremier

    JMPremier
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nobody know then?
    I believe one of the RCVDSs had a built in line doubler, how do I find out if any of mine have?

    John
     
  3. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    From the Barco range of switchers, only the RCVDS 05 has the the capacity to have a line doubler fitted.
    The I'm not entirely certain but differnce between your models on the serial number sticker will be a part number 98****
    The following may help.
    • RCDVS 2 = PN/9825470
    • RCDVS 3 = PN/9825480
    • RCDVS 3 Quad = PN/9825880
    • RCDVS 4 = PN/9826180
    • RCDVS 4 Quad = PN/9826190
    • RCVDS 400 Q = P/N 9827450
    • RCDVS 400 SQ = PN/9827270
    • RCVDS 800 = P/N 9827450
    • RCVDS 650 = P/N 9827700
    • RCVDS 05 = P/N 9827880
    The Quad meant it had a Quad standard decoder on board (PAL, Secam and x2 NTSC)
    The 'S' Showed it had an S-Video input. (though from the RcVDS 400SQ they all did)
    Only the 05 could allow component decoding/switching. All but the 800 series could be used as stand alone swithers.
    Hope that helps
     
  4. ChopperCharles

    ChopperCharles
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does the RCVDS convert a composite video input signal into RGB, or does it just pass the signal through? I'm thinking it just passes the signal, but if it actually does the conversion, it'd be a whole lot more useful...

    Charles.
     
  5. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    If it has a Quad decoder fitted. then composite or svideo will be converted to RGBS.
    (it will also pass it through the video and s-video ports)
     

Share This Page

Loading...