RCVDS 800 connected to 808

Roland @ B4

Prominent Member
Reaction score
This was sent to me via the forums

I have a Barco 808 that I've been using for a couple years. Right after I bought the projector I picked up a used rcvds 800 switcher thinking that I might need more input options in the future. I hate to say it, but I never actually tried the unit out till tonight, and needless to say I ran into some trouble.

The power switch was sticky, but I managed to get the unit on. However, all I see in the display is a "-" There are several boards installed in the unit--2 s/composite boards and at least 3 RGB boards. None of the lights are lit on these boards. I have a cable connected from my computer into the 1st RGB board and a 5 wire RGB cable from the output to the projector. Do I need to connect something else to make it work? How do I select the proper input? None of the buttons on the front seem to do anything. If I push the standby button nothing happens. Is the unit defective?

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated! (I'm trying to hook both a computer and a separate video processor to the switcher and I just received all the cables I need to make it happen and nothing!)

Thanks,
Brian

I found a copy of the manual online. So, it looks like I have to run a DB9 cable from the switcher to the control port on the projector to make it function. Is this correct? Is this simply a mouse extension cable?

Brian

The lights on the boards on the back don't come on till that board is an active running source.

The cable needed between the projector and rcvds is a straight through 9 pin serial. (I think female to female). I got one from a computer fair for a couple of quid.

Once you have a cable, inputs are numbered 1-X, with 1 being the leftmost board (looking from the back).

Peter