RCE Titles

Discussion in 'Movie Forum' started by andy-p, Feb 9, 2002.

  1. andy-p

    andy-p
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    When ordering R1 titles to play on my multi-region non RCE disabled DVD player, how do I ensure they do not have RCE encoding on them? Sorry if this is a stupid question!

    Andy P.
     
  2. PaulDCocker

    PaulDCocker
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey its always wise to check on www.play.com as their region 1 titles generally state whether its RCE or not.

    Also www.dvdcompare.org.uk have an RCE listing section, its not bad.

    Which DVD player do you have, there may be an RCE hack?

    Cheers, Paul
     
  3. Ron240

    Ron240
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,612
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kirkcaldy (but i'm not a Fifer)
    Ratings:
    +458
    RCE is only found on a few new and recent Columbia titles.RCE is a joint development between Columbia and Warner but im not sure if any Warner titles have it yet.In any case,all the good internet retailers will tell you if a DVD has RCE.
     
  4. andy-p

    andy-p
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Many thanks guys.

    The player is a Sony NS900V with the multi-region handset hack, hence no RCE. I don't think this player can be RCE disabled without a chip upgrade??

    I was aware that there currently aren't many RCE titles out anyway, so figured it wasn't worth the extra cash and concern of a soldering iron bodge! (Yes I know most are fine!).

    Andy P.
     
  5. mysteriousjimmy

    mysteriousjimmy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    here is the RCE list so far

    6th Day
    All The Pretty Horses
    America's Sweethearts
    the Animal
    The Brothers
    Charlies Angels
    Final Fantasy - Disc 1 only
    Finding Forrester
    Ghosts of Mars
    Glass House
    Hollow Man
    Joe Dirt
    Knights Tale
    Patriot
    Saving Silverman
    Snatch
    South Park : Chefs Experience
    South Park : Xmas in South Park
    Thomas Tank & Magic Railroad
    Tomcats
    Urban Legend Final Cut  

    and to be confirmed

    Failsafe
    Glitter
     
  6. Confucius

    Confucius
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +132
    Magnificent Seven from MGM is also RCE.
     
  7. Ron240

    Ron240
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,612
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kirkcaldy (but i'm not a Fifer)
    Ratings:
    +458
    Yes,there seems to be a problem with certain MGM titles but they are not specifically listed as having RCE. I wouldnt be surprised if the film companies would rather keep it a secret.
     
  8. mysteriousjimmy

    mysteriousjimmy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    this is from www.dvdtalk.com regarding the MGM titles.

     
  9. Electric Mayhem

    Electric Mayhem
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +1,921
    Play.com list the Superbit titles as RCE & Rush Hour 2 as well, but never had a problem with them myself.
     
  10. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +10,061
    play.com listed quite a few with RCE, when in reality they didn't.....

    for example, Rush Hour 2, Driven, memento, all superbits, and once upon a time in china 3......all of these work on my player which is non-rce..
     
  11. andyk

    andyk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +166
    Gattaca is as well
     
  12. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +10,061
    what is, the normal version?
     
  13. andyk

    andyk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +166
    It's the Superbit version that I have got. That is RCE. I don't know about the normal version
     
  14. mysteriousjimmy

    mysteriousjimmy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The R1 Gattaca Superbit IS NOT RCE
     
  15. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +10,061
    yep, just to confirm superbit gattaca is NOT RCE
     
  16. andyk

    andyk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +166
  17. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +10,061
    if you read my post regarding play, they list loads of discs as RCE, but they aren't..!
     
  18. mysteriousjimmy

    mysteriousjimmy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    to date all the Superbit titles have been coded for more than one region except Air Force One which is coded for R1 only.

    With more than 1 region coding on the disc I don't think they could get RCE to work all that well.

    here is the Region coding for all the Superbit titles so far

    Johnny Mnemonic R1/R3

    Bram Stokers Dracula R1/R3/R4
    CTHD R1/R3/R4
    Desperado R1/R3/R4
    Fifth Element R1/R3/R4
    Gattaca R1/R3/R4

    and I would say the next 2 titles Big Hit and Vertical Limit will also be coded for R1/R3/R4
     
  19. infomatique

    infomatique
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I received Final Fantasy frob DVDBOXOFFICE today and much to my surprise it did not work on my region modified Pioneer DVD. Later I put it in my region 2 Philips DVDR1000 and while I got the screen telling me that it would only work in a unmodified region one player it started to play no problem. It would appear if I boot up the Philips with the DVD in it the film automatically plays back. Has anyone got an explanation for this?
     
  20. malcy

    malcy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The regional coding on superbit titles follows Columbia's distribution rights to them worldwide. AirForce 1 is Disney in R2 and R4, Johnny Mnemonic is Fox (in R2 UK - my VHS was anyway may be same in Aus). Vertical Limit is Columbia in UK and Aus so would expect this to be similar to most of the others as R1,3 & 4
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice