1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RCE Compatability - A Good test?

Discussion in 'Movie Forum' started by andy76, Dec 8, 2003.

  1. andy76

    andy76
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    May seem an odd question but what disc would anyone suggest as a good test to a players ability to play RCE discs?
    I have just bought a new Multi Region player and want to check it works OK. Not had any R1 DVDs before!

    Thanks
    Andrew
     
  2. Drunken Master

    Drunken Master
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In the middle of a roundabout
    Ratings:
    +7
    Charlies Angels, locked on my machine. I had to reset the engineers menu!
     
  3. figrin_dan

    figrin_dan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,993
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +136
    TriStar and Universal discs. Put in a R2 first, then try the R1, if it fails, try a normal R1, then the RCE.
     
  4. FoxyMulder

    FoxyMulder
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    And if it fails just select a chapter usually 01 and it should play the film even though its regionally coded, anyways if it can't play the film the region code menu pops up and tells u but its easily broken and u can do it without modifying ur machine.
     
  5. Lux

    Lux
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    759
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Luxembourg
    Ratings:
    +1
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    MEN in Black 1 or 2 also any disney disc!
     
  7. Lux

    Lux
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    759
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Luxembourg
    Ratings:
    +1
    disneys don't really test for RCE but how many violations of the DVD authoring your player tolerates before crashing.
     
  8. Roughneck1

    Roughneck1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Patriot....
     
  9. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,812
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,021
    Spiderman.
     
  10. Lux

    Lux
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    759
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Luxembourg
    Ratings:
    +1
    I just remembered: Sony introduced a new version of RCE with Spiderman. some players that never had problems with RCE couldn't play the RCE discs following Spiderman. so it might be best to get one of the new ones (ie anything after spiderman), like Bad boys 2

    HTH
     
  11. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Was this Region 1 or 2?

    Dave
     
  12. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Or both???????????
     
  13. andy76

    andy76
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the replies and suggestions.
    I wanted bad Boys II so just bought that and good news it works:smashin:

    Problem is now I have a multi region player I will start buying way too many discs:laugh:


    Andrew
     

Share This Page

Loading...