RCE and Multi Region

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Stewart C, Oct 19, 2000.

  1. Stewart C

    Stewart C
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone know much about this and how complicated this will be to defeat. I am upgrading to a new Toshiba DVD player but I have cancelled it meantime until I know what is happening.

    ------------------
    Stewart C
     
  2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,071
    Stewart,

    Any DVD players which can be set to specific regions will be able to play these discs. Only machines that are set to region 0 or those that have "auto sensing" mods are likely to be have trouble.

    Gordon

    ------------------
    StereoStereo
    Intelligent Solutions for Intelligent Homes !
     
  3. Matt @ DVD Debate

    Matt @ DVD Debate
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You might want to have a look at Techtronics site, they have tested their modded players, almost everything except the Toshibas have passed.
     
  4. Stewart C

    Stewart C
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys but the Techtronics mod in the Toshiba players is automatic sensing and worse still I want a new Toshiba.

    Both of which are dodgy.
     
  5. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,071
    Stewart,

    Why don't you just buy the Toshiba and get it modified by someone better than techtronics!

    We wont supply a Toshiba but I can give you the number of a man who should be able to do the necessary for you.

    Gordon

    ------------------
    StereoStereo
    Intelligent Solutions for Intelligent Homes !
     
  6. Trigger

    Trigger
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Yamaha S700 modified by techtronics originally, which has worked faultlessly for 2 years. You choose the region manually 1 or 2. But it doesnt play 'The Patriot' due to RCE. What can I do ? (Techtronics say it will work !)
     
  7. Stewart C

    Stewart C
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Someone is talking tosh at Techtronics.

    I downloaded their latest update to the RCE saga and according to the sheet of paper I have in front of me the Yamaha S700 it has not even been tested yet.

    The Toshiba machines:-

    It now appears that they can get the movies to work with Toshiba's with a manual code but the menu doesn't work. Not much good if you need to select a DTS over DD signal, but it is a start.

    ------------------
    Stewart C
     
  8. Couch Potato

    Couch Potato
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry for sounding dim but what is RCE?
     
  9. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry for sounding dim but what is RCE?

    Region Code Enhancement I believe.

    Have a look at:
    http://www.deja.com/group/uk.media.dvd

    Just enter RCE in the search box. There's mention of it on this site too if you have a butcher's.

    Gary

    A Phased Plasma Rifle In A 40 Watt Range®


    My DVDs
    [​IMG]

    [This message has been edited by APPRIA40WR (edited 20-10-2000).]
     
  10. Arthur.S

    Arthur.S
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. logiclee

    logiclee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,598
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Notts, UK.
    Ratings:
    +675
    Oh b****r,

    Have four Techtronics modded Toshiba's in the family. Wonder what Techtronics stance is going to be. Visited their shop twice and sung their praises on this Forum.
    Have to ride the storm I guess.


    Lee


    ------------------
    There is no spoon!
     
  12. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +369
    The Hitachi 505 Tonks RCE with Handset Hack [​IMG]

    SETUP
    LAST
    SKIP<
    SKIP>
     
  13. B Caine

    B Caine
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Barrow North UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    I have been to the Link online site and it gives a list of players that will play RCE discs, hope this helps.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice