1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RC5000 screen not responding?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by Ged, Feb 29, 2004.

  1. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    920
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    My 3 year old RC5000 screen stopped responding to touch, all the hard buttons work and activate the display.
    I have tried the reset function and flashing the firmware but to no avail.
    I have bought a Mosaic but may repair the 5000, has anyone had a similar problem repaired and how much did it cost?
    Ged.
     
  2. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    Is covered in the FAQ. You know where to go for that...

    Mike.
     
  3. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    920
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Checked the site once more, all refs lead to a fractured display or software workrounds which I have tried.
    Is it worth sending it back?
    I have a pocket pc which is good but nowhere as powerful and cannot switch on a Panasonic tv. The mosaic is on charge and looks like it may act the same when fully taught, I only ever learned to download my own ccf system to the pocket pc (Tosh 310), so any ideas on how much a repair may cost, I would like to keep it!
    :confused:
    Ged
     
  4. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    Send back where ? It's three years old.

    The screen can be DIY fixed. Search here or Remote Central.

    Mike.
     
  5. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    920
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Send back refers to Marantz or Philips.
    Any one know of a UK place to send it to?
     
  6. Loada

    Loada
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    585
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Guisborough, North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +48
    Not sure about this but i *think* the RC5000 may have a five year warranty (altho it could be 3) - you should be able to get it fixed by Marantz. When this happened to a friend of mine, he went through his dealer (LetsAutomate). Took a week or so before it was returned, fully working.

    If it's outside warranty there will be a cost involved. Whether you can fix it yourself depends on if you can diagnose the exact problem via the FAQs etc at RC. If it's the screen, then it may not be cost effective to fix - I'm not sure of the current screen prices. A bit of forum searching at RC should help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...