RB-991 repair or replace?

amitgc

Novice Member
Hi everyone, happy new year.

I’m not an audiophile expert so if this is a confusing question please bear with me. I have a pair of Morduant Short 816 an old Onkyo Tx-SR875 AVR and a Rotel RB-991 power amp.

The onkyo is in place as the old pre-amp died with the Rotel connected as a power amp, feeding the MS 816. Apple TV in place for music streaming.

One channel on the Rotel has died (again) so I wanted advice on the value of repairing over connecting the MS816 to a Denon AVC-4700 we have in a separate room. I use the speakers to listen to music primarily.

Suggestions or ideas please.

Paul7777x

Distinguished Member
The 991 is a monster of a superb power amp.

200w into 8 Ohm and a damping factor of 1000, plus Rotels usual first class power supply.

Getting any thing close to it will cost you a good few quid indeed.

The only thing I can think that comes close for a decent budget is a Quad 909 (or 606), and even they can’t match the outright power output.

However the MS don’t really need all that power, still sound better with a fair old heft though.

I’m tempted to suggest a more modern Rotel integrated to take the place of both the 991 and the Onkyo preamp.

However, if you’d prefer to stick to a big power amp then this is a great buy.

I’m not at all sure it’s reasonable to repair the 991 unless you can find someone to do a thorough rebuild from scratch just about. It’s getting on a bit.

Paul7777x

Distinguished Member

amitgc

Novice Member
Hi Paul

Thanks for your advice and sorry for the delayed response. What integrated amp did you have in mind? I am loathed to part with it but if a repair isn’t possible….

All I need is the ability to stream audio and potentially vinyl.

Thanks
Amit

Paul7777x

Distinguished Member
Well, if you want something quite superb for a bargain price (top of your budget though) the these two are where I’d send my money.