1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

raw files

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by paulc1, May 23, 2005.

  1. paulc1

    paulc1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    392
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +28
    I have shot and processed my first raw file from my D70, and cannot believe what I have been missing by using jpeg format, I am using Nikon capture, which is great but really really slow, and I am using pixmanted rawshooter, which is better, but doesnt process the files as good.

    does anyone have any recommendations?

    I dont think that I will ever shoot jpeg again....ever!
     
  2. mr jones

    mr jones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    (S)cumbria, UK
    Ratings:
    +22
    i use rawshooter, not had any problems


    try adobe camera raw if you use photoshop or elements


    i find that, although sometimes i just want to run of some quite snaps so i revert to JPEG format and then forget, take a few blinding shots in JPEG that i then want to tweak in raw and cant


    i agree im a raw convert, try to keep away from JPEG now :D
     
  3. paulc1

    paulc1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    392
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +28
    I use photo shop 7 and the raw plug in wont work with it, i think it may be upgrade my processor and memory time.

    I simply cannot believe the difference between raw and jpeg...its like a revelation, and I am more than happy to struggle with long processing times, just to see the results.
     
  4. mr jones

    mr jones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    (S)cumbria, UK
    Ratings:
    +22
    yeh i think the raw only works with CS


    yep its well worth it, the tweakability is superb, i managed to get some wedding shots from a strange angle that no one else could get, and by bringing the exposure down they look superb :)
     
  5. dejongj

    dejongj
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,510
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beautiful South
    Ratings:
    +4,772
    For a simplified workflow I can highly recommend Adobe Photoshop Elements 3.0...I only shoot in RAW and it makes it really easy to use......

    Though I think that for my holiday I will move to raw+jpg so that I can offload my compactflash cards to my Ipod Photo and view the images...
     

Share This Page

Loading...