RAW file on Photoshop CS2

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by timus, Aug 9, 2006.

  1. timus

    timus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Sompting, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +210
    I have been taking Raw files on my 350d but when i look to get them onto Photoshop all i see is the JPEG files do i need to download the images straight onto photoshop why are they not appearing?
     
  2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,225
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,094
    cs2 can look at RAW but you need to make sure you have the latest updates installed. If you go to Adobe website it should explain what you need to do.

    Having said that I would use RAWSHOOTER instead for viewing RAW. It's a free application and is superior in RAW conversion to the Canon or Adobe utilities just now. Adobe have actually bought the company that make RAWSHOOTER and no doubt a new version will appear with their brandname.

    You can download Rawshooter essentials for free here
    http://www.pixmantec.com/products/rawshooter.asp
     
  3. timus

    timus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Sompting, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +210
    Thanks i have actually got that already.
     
  4. HCking

    HCking
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    868
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sheffield.
    Ratings:
    +18
    for photoshop to see the 350d you need to update the camera raw plugin.

    then use bridge to view and sort your raws and convert them in cs2 unless you use some thing else. I find a lot of people say cs2 is crap compared to raw shooter, thats because they dont know how to set up ACR (abobe camera raw). cs2 + bridge + ACR is one very powerfull package.

    we tested ACR against rawshooter, c1 pro, lightroom, aperture, raw developer. and found raw developer gave the best picture quality and look, followed by ACR + c1pro.

    We use acr and raw developer depending on what our out put is to be used for.

    cheers

    Mark
     
  5. senu

    senu
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    19,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Denham, South Bucks
    Ratings:
    +2,811

    Mark,
    It seems Adobe doesnt really make it "easy" to set up. I have done it and whilst I agree it works well, it seems Adobe has made it much easier for the users of Photoshop Elements 3 ( with raw plug -in) or Elements 4 to have an easier ride as the plug in just opens RAW files automatically before going in to the mail editing window
     
  6. monkeyboy69

    monkeyboy69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    599
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    maybe its just me but I find cs raw import better than cs2 version. While its nice to have the curves option present I find it over compensates for low light level stuff when using the auto options. So you end up with all these nice new toys and ultimately resort back to good old fashion by hand and eye
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice