Rattling Mission Sub Woofer

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by ufo550, Jun 19, 2015.

  1. ufo550

    ufo550
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +863
    I've had a Mission Sub Woofer (70ASE) for a few years, but in the last 6 months it's developed a sort of rattling noise (got that description from the net). I've had the thing apart, nothing's loose, no cracks to the wooden box. The speaker looks okay and the cone is still attached to the voice coil.

    Is there anything else to check. Google search suggest cracked spider, what's that? Did find a spider inside, but I let him out....
     
  2. IronGiant

    IronGiant
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    67,548
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +48,333
  3. ufo550

    ufo550
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +863
    That looks intact as well?
     
  4. paulst10

    paulst10
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    12,849
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,294
    Does it rattle all the time when it's playing? Also does it rattle if you lift it and shake it (assuming it's not too heavy)?
     
  5. ufo550

    ufo550
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +863
    When it receives some input, it sort of rattles as opposed to giving out lfe. Nothing loose inside.
     
  6. ufo550

    ufo550
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +863
    I've taken the speaker out of it's box, and laid it flat (on the magnet) on the floor. Rattle is not as bad (only now and again). It's like (the sound of) two plates banging into each other.
     
  7. stephenbarnes

    stephenbarnes
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    4,872
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +846
    If you push the cone in slightly do you feel grating?
     
  8. ufo550

    ufo550
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +863
    Nope nice & smooth. Just played some scenes from 'Terminator', and rattling noise has gone. Gonna put it back together and see what happens.
     
  9. stephenbarnes

    stephenbarnes
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    4,872
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +846
    That's a shame, if it was knackered you'd have an excuse to upgrade.
     
  10. ufo550

    ufo550
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +863
    Problem seems to be with control panel. When I take that out and rest on the floor, noise goes. Soon as I screw panel back into place, noise comes back. Nothing loose in the panel. I can rest the panel in the hole for it, but soon as the panel gets pushed up tight against box, the noise starts? Should there be some sort of foam strip between panel and box?
     
  11. paulst10

    paulst10
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    12,849
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,294
    How old is the sub? there may been a foam strip once but it has deteriorated over time?

    When you screw the amp plate back on does it feel like all screws lock tight? If not then I'm sure you could get some foam strips and line the inside of the box where the amp plate fixes? Also wondering whether lining it with silicone may be a better and more permanent option?
     
  12. ufo550

    ufo550
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +863
    Just tried putting some foam strip between plate and box, still no good. Got it bodged in now, with the top of the plate screwed tight and bottom not fixed and away from box. Must be something broken in the bottom half of the control plate (can't see anything obvious) that's resonating, causing the noise. Subs about 8 years old.
     
  13. paulst10

    paulst10
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    12,849
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,294
    Are screws going into bare wood or are there metal inserts? It could be the wood has worn away around the screw threads. If you have nothing to lose, I'd try silicone as if it seals tight, it should hold forever and make a good seal. Or failing that.. upgrade time :)
     
  14. ufo550

    ufo550
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +863
    Noise happens when the plate is screwed tight into the box (screws into chipboard), so something is vibrating on the bottom half of the plate (top bit has the pcb, bottom mains cable entry & transformer). Upgrade time me thinks.
     
  15. paulst10

    paulst10
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    12,849
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,294
    I suppose you could keep the amp and driver for a DIY project if you're into that. I would try a line of silicone around the edge of the box to see if it solves it though as if it's a loose screw, it might hold it in place.

    At least there's a multitude of upgrade options for you to choose from.. Having owned a Mission sub about 14 years ago (think it was an MS8 or MS10) that was a similar spec to yours, I can guarantee you, if you spend wisely you can get a sub that will literally wipe the floor with what you are used to, playing deeper, cleaner and louder. A long time ago I thought that Mission sub sounded great but now I'd only class it as a mid-woofer, one of my mates who has been into subs a bit longer than me always calls them BOD (boxes of distortion) :D
    http://www.hifidatabase.com/Detailed/Mission_70ASE_4155.php

    Try to get some recommendations on here rather than walk into somewhere like Richer Sounds if you're looking to spend wisely ;)
     
  16. ufo550

    ufo550
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +863
    Cheers will do, but will be some time yet!
     

Share This Page

Loading...