Random wires out of phone line box

Jaysparticus

Novice Member
Afternoon folks,

Newbie here. Hope you're all well?

I have just moved into a property and I am awaiting my phoneline/broadband to go active but I'm not sure if I'm wired up right???

The last owners had internet's etc but the main phone line into the box is parted and looks to have been damaged a while.

Randomly there are 2 wires coming out of the splitter that run to nowhere? Could these be the ative phone line?

I have attached pics for a bit of help.

Best regards

Jay
20200825_141723.jpg
20200825_141717.jpg
20200825_141708.jpg

mickevh

Distinguished Member
The incoming phone line up to and including the Master Socket "belongs" to OpenReach and subscribers are not at liberty to tamper with it, notwithstanding that is is inside "our" properties. The Master Socket is the demarcation point between what "belongs" to us and what "belongs" to OpenReach.

If it is damaged, you should call your telephone provider and let them know and they will/should in turn send out the OpenReach engineers to sort out the mess.

Looking at your picture, it looks like it's been rather "bodged" by someone - no OpenReach engineer would have done such a poor job (or at least, if they had, they should have their ass handed to them - usually OpenReach engineers work is "tidy" verging on surgical.) I would hazzard a guess that "someone" has moved the Master Socket from the splice point in the corner to it's present position.

Your telco may threaten to charge you for the work, but if it were me I would try invoking "I've just bought the place and this is the mess I've been left" and/or "I'm taking out a new service with you and think you should make good the line before I'm happy to accept it" or some such argument to see if you can persuade them to do it free of charge.