RAM and network speed.....

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by themediaman, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. themediaman

    themediaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +171
    Just got a new router that is Gig ready, I was not expecting Gig speeds, but only really got doubl my transfer speeds, which I know can be common when considering equipment [hard drives, RAM, CPU etc....]

    Would increasing my PC RAM help with the transfer speed from it to my NAS/Other external hard drives.........

    Thank you...........
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2012
  2. Kristian

    Kristian
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,235
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sunny Scunny
    Ratings:
    +439
    Very doubtful. It may but only if the OS and apps you are running don't have enough RAM for themselves and are constantly having to use the page file. You are much more likely to be limited by the [lack of] speed of the hard disks in the source and destination devices and processing power of CPU, the latter especially in lower end NAS.
     
  3. themediaman

    themediaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +171
    thanks for your reply.................

    I have the readynas duo, so low end NAS..........not expecting a lot.....
     
  4. charles_b

    charles_b
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    616
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +91
    It's on a par with what I get with my Duo...I think Windows 7 is to blame to be fair. I've not yet tried Linux Mint transfer speeds on Gigabit (I only have a 100Mbit Mint Laptop), but transfer speeds are better on linux it seems, have you checked your MTU settings across the board?
     
  5. themediaman

    themediaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +171
    I have not, but have been reading up on it today.............

    The jumbo frames setting on the Duo is enabled on my unit, but I am unsure whether my PC NIC supports it, will check tonight after work, seen a Command line used to check if the MTU setting functions................any experiences on this..........[ping -f -l MTU IPHost]

    Will other devices on my LAN affect the speed between PC and NAS, like my PS3, Surround AMP..........?
     
  6. Kristian

    Kristian
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,235
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sunny Scunny
    Ratings:
    +439
    I don't believe jumbo frames do much on the ReadyNAS DUO to improve performance. All the devices in the chain e.g. PC, Switch and NAS need to be able to support JF. It's generally advised that unless all devices in the network support it then don't bother.

    The DUO tends to max out at about 25MBytes/s and it's due to the CPU I believe. Which is about twice the 12.5MB/s limit of 100Mb Ethernet.
     
  7. themediaman

    themediaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +171
    Thats useful information, thank you.........
     
  8. themediaman

    themediaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +171
    fiddled about with my NIC configuration changing the jumbo packet size to 9514 bytes and went from 8.736 Bytes/sec to 16.798Bytes/sec write speed, so good news...........
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice