1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rainbows & HDMI on Sagem HD-45

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by dvdchild, Sep 21, 2005.

  1. dvdchild

    dvdchild
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +102
    Hi Guys,

    Got my HD-45 today and so far pretty pleased apart from seeing rainsbows a lot of the time (hope it goes away as it is pretty constant and made me pretty tired)

    Major issue i have is i am trying to connect my Pioneer DV668 HDMI player with a roline hdmi > dvd cable to the DVI socket on TV. Now DVD player should show that this is connected with a blue light on the front panel indicating HDMI connection. This has not come on and also the HDMI settings are greyed out.

    Problem i also have is that it will display a picture with this connection but only PAL discs - If i play NTSC it just goes blank and says no signal. Component works fine on both Pal/NTSC.

    Anyone shed any light on this??

    All help would be greatly appreciated as i hope my set is not faulty.

    Thanks
    DVDCHILD
     
  2. Elephant Man

    Elephant Man
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +4
    Ive got the 868 but my Tosh has a hdmi socket. Take your lead & player & R1 dvds to comet. To demo on another s-45
     
  3. dvdchild

    dvdchild
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +102
    i won't be following that route as i couldn't even get them to plug a dvd player into it when i went to demo one - Against company policy i was told.

    Anyone successfully using hdmi > dvd with NTSC dvd's???

    HELP?????

    DVDCHILD
     
  4. Mark_a

    Mark_a
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,832
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +470
    Dunno if it's anything similar but I've found my Tosh is quite piccy about HDMI. If I forget and don't turn on the TV first then it simply ignores the HDMI connection. To get it working again I have to power the TV down at the mains to reset it. If I turn the TV on first then it sees a HDMI source quite happily. I think it's something to do with the HDCP hand-shaking before it will allow a connection. Quite why it has to be in order I don't know.

    Regards

    Mark
     
  5. dvdchild

    dvdchild
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +102
    that sounds a bit shoddy - I have spoken to Pioneers DVD specialist on the tech line and he informs me that it sounds like a handshaking problem with the screen. Just waiting to see what Sagem are gonna say. The rainbow problem is more of an issue at the moment and i may need to return the set.
     
  6. dvdchild

    dvdchild
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +102
    has anyone got this to work with a hdmi > dvi cable using any HDMI dvd player?????
     
  7. hedgehog

    hedgehog
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Samsung DVD-HD945 is connectet with a HDMI -> DVI cable to a Sagem HD-D56B. Works perfekt with PAL DVD with 576p, 720p and 1080i. I don't have NTSC DVDs.
     
  8. dvdchild

    dvdchild
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +102
    anyone care to add if this works with NTSC material as pretty much all my collection is Region 1. I was informed today by Sagem Tech Support that i needed to use an HDMI - HDMI with a HDMI > Converter for it to work.

    I would have thought that the straight HDMI > DVI cable i have would work all ok. They said it was do with the conversion. Something doesn't sound quite right with this and i am one step from returning the TV.

    DVDCHILD
     
  9. scookar

    scookar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I've got my Samsung HD850 connected via HDMI->DVI and most of my DVDs are region 1.

    Had my HD-D56 for over a month and have not experienced any probs with NTSC DVDs or the HDMI connection.

    EDIT - I am not using a HDMI->DVI converter. using a HDMI-DVI cable.
     
  10. dvdchild

    dvdchild
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +102
    Well i have tried the suggested route by Sagem of using a hdmi - hdmi with dvi adapter and still no joy. The Tv is going back to AVWOW as i am suffering badly with the DLP rainbows and feeling quite sick from watching eastenders (yes i know it's bad acting but that didn't bring it on) :)

    Back to the drawing board

    DVDCHILD
     
  11. Kazman

    Kazman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Luton, Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +136
    I have the Pioneer 668 and will be getting my D45 on the 4th of October hopefully.

    I've heard in the past that the 668 has an issue with automatically switching to the HDMI output if it has been configured for RGB or Component output originally.

    I believe there is a setting within the DVD setup menu itself, I think you need to disable Component altogether before the HDMI will be enabled or something along those lines.

    I believe it was mentioned on these very forums previously, might be worth doing a search for it.
     
  12. dvdchild

    dvdchild
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +102
    Kazman,

    I have tried all the various settings in the menu and no joy. Spoke to Pioneer tech support and they informed me that the player does not handshake with the screen hence no hdmi connection. I have also been told by Sagem that NTSC does not work on the DVI connection.

    It doesn't really matter now as the set is going back to AVWOW due to suffering with DLP rainbows. Otherwise it is a fantastic set.
     
  13. Snap

    Snap
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Celle (Hannover)
    Ratings:
    +1
    That is something new for me. :(
     
  14. Bellad

    Bellad
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have also had problems with my Sagem HD-D45S and DVI connection. I recently bought a Samsung R125 DVD Recorder and it refused to play pre-recorded DVDs when connected HDMI to DVI using the lead supplied with the DVD recorder. Error message "Disc cannot played. (HDCP). All other methods of connection worked well.

    I have contacted both Sagem and Samsung and having tried various suggestions to cure the problem, I concluded that there was a compability issue between the two systems and therefore, returned the DVD to Comet for a refund.

    Has anyone managed to get a DVD Player/Recorder working with HDMI to DVI on this TV? If so please advise make and model.

    Regards


    Adrian
     
  15. Kazman

    Kazman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Luton, Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +136
    Works fine with my new DV7600.

    Had problems with my old Pioneer DV668 though, I'm thinking it could be an issue with HDMI 1.0.
     

Share This Page

Loading...