Radio while watching TV

challenger

Standard Member
Reaction score
I sometimes listen to radio on an old HiFi system whilewatching TV.

I am now considering putting together a Home Cinema system toserve as an entertainment centre....ie watch TV/films, listen to CD's & ipod, listen to radio, therefore being able to eliminate the HiFisystem.

Will I still be able to listen to radio while watching TV ona Home Cinema system? It was suggested to me that I would not be able to dothis on the receiver. A way of doingthis would be if I connect a Blu-Ray player using an optical lead, then I couldlisten to radio on the internet through the Blu-Ray player.

Being a Home Cinema novice, I am not sure just what ispossible and how to achieve it. Can someone please advise?

The system I am considering is: Yamaha RXV671 receiver, QAcoustics 2000 5.1 speaker package, Sony BDP-S380 or 580 Blu-Ray player. Thiswould cost approx £1050 - £1100. (an alternative receiver is Marantz NR1602 and alternative speakers QAcoustics Q7000 or Kef KHT2005)

Is this a good starter system for my requirements, or are thereadequate alternatives out there for lessmoney?

Last edited:
The Yamaha and QA speakers is a good started system. You would not be able to use the internal FM tuner on the reciever at the same time as watching a bluray. If you use the internal tuner on the TV then you could watch TV and have the radio on.

Thanks PSM1.

Am I correct in thinking that you mean I can select to watch the TV in the normal way as if it weren't connected to a AV system, with the sound coming from its own speakers, then listen to the radio through the speakers connected to the AV receiver?

I would have my V+ box connected through the AV receiver, so I guess I wouldn't be able to watch anything from that, just the freeview channels accesible through the TV tuner?