1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Radeon 9800pro or Nvidia 6600gt ?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by stevedster, May 5, 2005.

  1. stevedster

    stevedster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Birkenhead
    Ratings:
    +41
    Ok have narrowed it down to these to AGP gfx cards. I currently have a Radeon 9600pro, so i am wondering would it be easier and safer to upgrade to the 9800pro as they use they same drivers etc? my motherboard has the via kt400 chipset on, so i would like a card that is compatable with them. any advice, suggestions please add here.... :lease:
     
  2. betamac

    betamac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The 6600GT is a more exspensive card but a better card if you are looking for

    1: A Top End Gaming Card
    2: Onboard video decoding meaning CPU workload is next to nothing when watching DVDs, WMV Video etc
     
  3. stevedster

    stevedster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Birkenhead
    Ratings:
    +41
    Hmmm might get the 6600gt then. Can anyone see any problems with installing it after i take my ati radeon 9600 out ?
     
  4. SeanT

    SeanT
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +371
    only if ya snap a lump off :D
     
  5. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,860
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +365
    No, there will be no problem changing from a Radeon to an Nvidia card. You need to uninstall the ATI driver software, switch the pc off, swap the cards over then reboot and install the Nvidia Drivers... remember to connect a power supply to the card if it needs it
    lisa
     
  6. stevedster

    stevedster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Birkenhead
    Ratings:
    +41

    hmmm just checked inside my pc, havnt got a spare molex power connector... do both the 6600gt and the 9800pro need a seperate power cable? (my current 9600pro does not). the only direct lines i got left from the psu(350w) are...one of them on the left, and the small one in the middle.

    [​IMG]

    so the only options left to me are to either get a molex Y splitter, or get some kind of adaptor to convert one of those spare power cables. as i said if anyone can let me know whether 6600gt and the 9800pro actually need power or not would be helpful. any ideas/help here chaps?
     
  7. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    dont just do that. yes uninstall the ati panel and drivers but then run a program called driver cleaner and get rid of the remaining files that didnt get removed. ive only ever seen issues when swapping cards so i usually clean install to save the hassle
     
  8. betamac

    betamac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmmm without opening my case i dont think the Gigabyte 6600GT i have needs extra power? but not 100%

    Either way if it does just get a splitter, i myself use a 350Watt PSU not problems atall so splitter will work fine.
     
  9. stevedster

    stevedster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Birkenhead
    Ratings:
    +41

    hmmm thanks for the info, will it make any difference that the splitter will be run off another splitter????
     
  10. stevedster

    stevedster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Birkenhead
    Ratings:
    +41
  11. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    What is the reason you want to upgrade? The 600GT is a better card than the 9800 Pro but something like an XT 600 could be a better option. What made you settle on the 9800, it's 'last generation' ATI as opposed to current generation NVidia?
     
  12. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,860
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +365
    I have the Gigabyte 6600GT and it does need a power supply, you should be fine adding splitters on to splitters though.

    If you use the ATI uninstall facility it should uninstall all the graphics card drivers and software automatically. You could use some driver cleaner software also as Kopite suggested but be careful that you don't delete files that your system needs, I am always a bit wary of these third party system cleaners, I have had them break OS installations before.

    lisa
     
  13. stevedster

    stevedster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Birkenhead
    Ratings:
    +41
    cool will add using molex splitter then!

    i am upgrading from a 9600pro not a 6600gt !

    one problem tho, i work for marconi :rolleyes: and just liverpool site is closing so i could be out of a job soon, so no more upgrades for a while :(
     
  14. gatt767

    gatt767
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you considered the 9800XT, with a 256 Bit architecture 8 Pixel pipelines and 256 DDR RAM, at higher res, and with AA switched on it will outpace a 6600 GT
     
  15. stevedster

    stevedster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Birkenhead
    Ratings:
    +41

    thought this card was more expensive??
     
  16. betamac

    betamac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think (if not mistaken) this is for HCPC use?

    If so then the added advantage of Pure Video on the 6600GT is a nice bonus
     
  17. -Hitman-

    -Hitman-
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Sector7
    Ratings:
    +842
    Hi,

    you can cut cost corners and still get a 9800xt from a 9800pro card!

    These cards are vertually the same and a change of bios will do the trick and tun it into a XT, this can be done with 128 and 256mb versions but the 256mb versions are rare and cost more.

    I bought a sapphire 9800pro 128mb for about £150 a few months back, got an arctic Vga cooler and put in the new bios and bingo i now have a 9800XT, no probs.

    Easy to do, here's the link if you are interested! :)

    http://www.rojakpot.com/default.aspx?location=3&var1=92&var2=0
     

Share This Page

Loading...