1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

radeon 9700

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by steevs, Feb 8, 2003.

  1. steevs

    steevs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,861
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    wxm
    Ratings:
    +70
    Hi guys

    I just got a radeon 9700, how do I tell if its a 9700 or a 9700 pro, are there are any programs that would tell me that . thanks in advance.
     
  2. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,100
    It would most likely say on the packaging or invoice. You can go into Control Panel - System. Look for a button/tab called Device Manager (depends on what OS you have) and look for display adaptors, in here it will tell you what you have.

    How much did you pay for it, the 9700 is significantly cheaper than the Pro.
     
  3. steevs

    steevs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,861
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    wxm
    Ratings:
    +70
    I paid £220 for it second hand on the understanding it was the pro, now i'm not so sure it is, in display properties it just says radeon 9700 series.
     
  4. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    31,309
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,006
    Don’t panic it may come back that even if you have the pro.
    Has the pro got more memory i.e. 128 instead of 64? what make of card is it? And can you go to the manufactures site to see if there is a difference in the pictures between the two of them, if so you can check your car that way.
     
  5. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    31,309
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,006
    Does going in this way get you more information???
    Try right clicking on the desktop, in display properties choose, Settings, Advanced and on one of the tabs may say what card you have.
     
  6. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,727
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,402
    I have the 9700 Pro and the Adapter Type is reported as

    RADEON 9700/9500 Series

    Chip type : RADEON 9700AGP (ND)
    DAC Type : Internal (400MHz)
    Memory Size : 128Mb
    Bios Info: 113-94206-101

    Hope that helps.
     
  7. steevs

    steevs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,861
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    wxm
    Ratings:
    +70
    Yep, thats the same as mine.

    cheers spectre.

    Thx for your help guys.

    Steve
     

Share This Page

Loading...