1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Radeon 9500>9700 soft mod

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Canary_Jules, Dec 6, 2003.

  1. Canary_Jules

    Canary_Jules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,244
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    Ratings:
    +764
  2. BBCuk2day

    BBCuk2day
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    94
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    the 9500 has to be the red pcb version tho so if you bought after the first few months the 9500 came out then you prob got the different pcb!
    ATI realised what every1 was doin was gettin 9500 and softmoddin it so they where loosin sales on the 9700 pro and changed the pcb although there have been rumours its works wi some of the black pcbs!!
    Also it doesnt work on every 9500 but luckily bein a softmod wont damage ya card!!
     
  3. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    The 256bit 9500's came in both red AND black pcb's. Though the black cards are rare,you're right there are a few of them about.

    anyway, as it happens i 've done quite a bit of research on the topic, and i also have a softmodded r9500 myself.

    Here's the guide i wrote on the subject:
    http://forum.oc-forums.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=211994

    feel free to ask any questions:)
     
  4. MuFu

    MuFu
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    NW2, London
    Ratings:
    +4
    They changed for cost of manufacture reasons. Nothing to do with the insignificantly small proportion of their customerbase attempting the mod (at that time success rates were only about 1-in-3 anyway). It's also the main reason they later dropped the 9500/Pro for RV350-based boards.

    This link is very useful, re. the mod:

    http://www.ocfaq.com/softmod/faq.php

    My 9500 wouldn't even initialise as a 9700. :(

    MuFu.
     
  5. DucatiEVO

    DucatiEVO
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The 9500 also gains the 256bit memory bus when it's using the 9700 PCB board.

    I softmodded mine but artifacts appeared in certain effects so I removed the mod in the end, hardly play games on my PC these days anyway.

    :)
     
  6. Canary_Jules

    Canary_Jules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,244
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    Ratings:
    +764
    Results: I installed the mod and after rebooting my card wasn't recognised as anything at all! So I guess I'm unlucky! Have restored everything as it was before.

    Jules
     
  7. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    what happend exactly?
     
  8. MuFu

    MuFu
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    NW2, London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thats what happened to mine (soft or hard-modded). Some 9500s won't take to the mod at all. Just make sure you've covered all other possibilities first before giving up!

    MuFu.
     
  9. Canary_Jules

    Canary_Jules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,244
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    Ratings:
    +764
    When I rebooted after applying the patch Windows couldn't recognise the card as anything. System properties carried ? marks next to display device. It booted in at 640x480. The ATI control panel wouldn't work. BTW I have a red Sapphire 9500 128MB. I used the soft mod from the link I posted.

    Jules
     
  10. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    try a different one - the one i posted is garunteed to work.
     
  11. MuFu

    MuFu
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    NW2, London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Eh, no it isn't. There will still be a small percentage of cards that reject device initialisation completely. As an aside, it's a fact that there are no (or next to no) 9500/942s that work perfectly well as 9700s... in instances where they appear to be working fine you just can't see the errors. Either that or you're not making use of the busted functionality.

    Nice that the success rate percentage has gone up a lot since people began modding their cards. I was a beta tester for the first soft mod (w1zzard's) and back then only about 20-30% of cards were modding acceptably. Now a 9800SE with an invalidated R360 core... if that happens there are going to be even more happy people about. :D

    MuFu.
     
  12. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    err yes it is.

    let me make it clearer - if the card can softmod, it WILL work. thats why i suggested it - in case he got the software wong/
     
  13. MuFu

    MuFu
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    NW2, London
    Ratings:
    +4
    My mistake, sorry. So you mean if it works it'll work, right? :D

    MuFu.
     
  14. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    bingo:) that sounded a little harsh there - sorry 'bout that lol

    anyway yeah, if the card will softmod - it'll work:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...