1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rack or cabinet - What do you use ???

Discussion in 'AV Stands, Cabinets, Seating & Furniture' started by JSW, Oct 2, 2002.

  1. JSW

    JSW
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,235
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +319
    I currently use an av cabinet from Ikea but like the look of a rack, only thing putting me off is dust and smoke.

    Also the cabinet is lockable keeping my sons hands of my kit but on the other hand its large and I could fit something else in its place if I had a rack :confused:
     
  2. bh

    bh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Lost (no GPS here)!
    Ratings:
    +1
    I use a Heybrook 7 tier open rack because of ease of access (especially at the back for your wiring), better ventilation and quicker cleaning. Your kit will get dusty in a cabinet anyway. The kit stays cooler and is probably dusted more often than would be the case if it were tucked away.

    Not sure how you overcome the problem of your son's hands though.

    bh
     
  3. pointon

    pointon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Right behind you!!!
    Ratings:
    +3
  4. JSW

    JSW
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,235
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +319
  5. JSW

    JSW
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,235
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +319
    One of the main reasons for wanting to change to a rack is the ability to get at the cables easily.

    Its a right pain at the mo whenever I need to get at them :(
     
  6. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    I am using a custom made (modified actually) open metal rack with glass panes, cabinets wouldn't look that good and as mentioned by some others it's easier to access and clean the equipment.
     
  7. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    Im going to buck the trend because I am using a rack which I customised a cabinet around!

    It has one problem, as mentioed, ventilation can be a problem if you have hot running amps and such.....hence i need a ventilator.

    ad
     
  8. pointon

    pointon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Right behind you!!!
    Ratings:
    +3
    Same thing when living in a garage.
     

Share This Page

Loading...