1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

R1 Disc plays Black & White on my Telly

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by rcladin, Mar 12, 2003.

  1. rcladin

    rcladin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    I've just recently purchased a Pioneer DV-656A and i'm very happy with it, but I have a disc that is region 1 but when I play it it shows up as black and white, all R2 discs are fine.

    Is it my Telly?, does it need to be NTSC Compatible - its an old Sanyo TV

    Any other way I can get this baby to play R1 encoded discs?

    Thanks for any help

    -r
     
  2. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im pretty certain that it's you TV can't accept NTSC signals. Don't know if there is a way aound it other than a new TV :( :devil:
     
  3. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    To watch an NTSC disk your TV does need to be NTSC to see the disk in colour ITs the TV not the DVD player.
    I think you can get a converter but the cost would be probititive, why post in the DVD trades and see if anyone will swap R1 for R2.
    I am waiting for an RCE disk and i am not sure my player will play it but I'm going to have to give it whirl!;)
     
  4. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    Most likely the TV is not NTSC compatible. If it does however have a RGB capable SCART input you may use that - given the DVD has RGB out via SCART.
    Buy a fully wired SCART cable (not all are!) and activate the RGB output at the DVD player, then you should see R1 discs in color!
     
  5. rcladin

    rcladin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Thanks for that I changed my video output from Video to RGB on the setting menu and it worked a treat, Region 1 discs in all their colour.

    Cheers and thanks for your help man,

    Yay! can now buy cheap R1 discs online, have also seen some very cheap R3 discs online. The other good thing is that R1 movies seem to come out about 3 months before R2 discs.

    Thanks again guys

    -r
     
  6. zerocool242001

    zerocool242001
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    just a quickie, how does one know if ur tv is rgb scart compatible, it plays region 1 disks in colour and thats from my ps2 with messiah2 chip fitted. Plus can't find the manual!!!
     
  7. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +56
    Don't forget to check the threads on 'import duty'........:lesson:
     
  8. rcladin

    rcladin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Johndm,

    I see you've got some 773e speaker,

    I've currently got a single pair of them bought about 4 years ago they where £400 pounds, am looking to purchase a new home cinema setup, with a sony 1080 av receiver - a new TV, probably toshiba highly rated 32" widescreen and new speakers & subwoofer,

    just a question I could get an extra pair of mission 773e for my rear surround and a mission centre channell 771 or something like that, what do the 773e sound like in your setup ??

    Was thinking about maybe using my old 773'e as the rear and purchasing a new set of wharfdael evo 30's or monitor audio s6 or something big, any advice,

    Do you have 2 centre rear speakers?? do you need a centre rear speaker? are there 4 rear speakers in your setup?

    thanks for listening

    -r
     
  9. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +56
    Hi rcladin,

    Your better off keeping all speakers the same for a balanced sound.
    I use 773e's for fronts and rears....sounds well cool..:smoke:

    Check out RS, they have 773e's for £169 pair!
    My centre M77c1 also came from them at £99.
    They were out of M7ds rears, so picked up some M5ds locally for £149 at Sevenoaks. Think they are a web offer this week if your quick mate.

    Use my old Technics amp to run the pair of centre rears rather than just one direct from my 555ES. Just connect a spare/old amp to the centre rear pre outs, and your away..:D
    Check the amp your after has pre outs....I guess it will have.

    Got a Gale 3080 sub (bit below par), and want to upgrade that already.

    Still, overall, well happy with the Mission setup.

    hope this helps

    regards
     
  10. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    how does one know if ur tv is rgb scart compatible

    From the manual you don't have. ;)

    Else just wire it up as described and activate RGB output - if you see a good looking picture you can assume the TV accepts RGB, usually on the AV1 input.
     

Share This Page

Loading...