Quiet quitting.

Derek S-H

Outstanding Member
Reaction score
A very interesting video:

And I know we have a dedicated YouTube videos Thread, but I thought this was worthy of actual discussion.

My background: I've been working part time since 1997 in the same job, and I am completely burnt out and disillusioned with working and have been for some time.

I would say I quiet quit at least 10 years' ago, but I keep going as I'll be 58 soon and I can easily live on the state retirement pension as I'm mortgage-free, no debts, single and no car or kids.

He makes some very pertinent points about the pandemic and re-evaluating your priorities in life, but doesn't mention the older worker like me, maybe because they have a different system in his country?

I suppose this Thread doesn't exactly reflect the zeitgeist as maybe people are looking for extra work to cover their increased living costs, but I am kind of intrigued to see if there are other people like me who are just going through the motions too.

I’m in a similar position. TUPE’d three times since I started work in 1993. Last time 12 years ago. I’m earning 1% more now than I was when I last transferred. Why stay? Comfort I guess. I’ve been with the same customer now for 20 years. I know my job inside out. It offers me great flexibility. I have decent benefits, but I have 3 years of my mortgage left. I have a decent pension pot but just working until I can draw that down. The other thing is, even though I feel I am doing the minimum so many seem to achieve even less by putting in maximum effort! So I’m doing a job at a tick over and still getting applauded for it. I wonder sometimes just how bad you need to be!!