Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Quickie re sub

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by petrolhead, May 5, 2003.

  1. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,788
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +116
    When setting up using the test tones (AV32R) should the sub be at the same level, 75db, as the rest of the speakers or higher. I seem to remember +6db but not sure. Currently all the same but just want clarification.
     
  2. S H A D O

    S H A D O
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +1,820
    Got mine set at the same (85db using AVIA).
     
  3. wilber

    wilber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +30
    Got mine set to -5 - just sounds right to me. I think that's what is important
     
  4. Steve.EX

    Steve.EX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    3,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +69
    Pete.

    You may as well set it to 75db in line with all other channels.
    As you will know there are individual trims for all surround modes within the menu's.
    PL2
    TMS
    Direct + Sub
    DD
    DTS

    To suit individual program tastes.

    Also on the remote there is (the two buttons to the right of the curser controls) a tempory sub trim - marked LFE+/LFE- for on the fly changes.
    Pressing the Normal button (on remote) will restore defaults.

    Reckon you knew this anyway.

    Regards

    Steve.
     
  5. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,788
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +116
    Thanks Steve

    Got it set to 75db. Yes I was aware that you can set different levels for TMS, DD etc

    Peter
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice