• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

quickest/ easiest way to tag mp3 albums

having thousands of mp3 albums i have never bothered to tag the tracks etc, so i dont have a clue on the best way to tag my mp3 albums & tracks.

only now using mce am i starting to think it would be a good time to tag all my mp3's

so what is the best way of doing it.

i dont mind aquiring software to do the job so please suggest any free or pay for software.

Is there a proggy that names the tracks and album folder and tags the tracks and adds album cover.

so weird i have been using mp3's for so many years now and never looked at this aspect of mp3's.

Also is there a quick way to create playlists for each album without having to save every album indivdually.

MikeK

I use MP3TagEditor.

However, as it's the only prog I've ever used (for files which have no ID3Tag that is - I usually rip my CDs using Audiograbber which Tags them automatically while ripping and converting), I can't really say how it compares with others.

It does filename > id3tag, which I suspect you'll find very useful, and allows large wads of files to be done at the same time with an explorer type interface.
It also allows multiple file tagging with a single text entry - ie if you wanted to tag say 20 files with Artist as U2, simply highlight the files and enter U2 in the Artist field, and they all get tagged - same with other tag info (such as album name, year, genre etc etc).

andyr300

id3 tag-it has access to the freeDB so it can look up tags,also can rename files,not sure about the folders though

The Dude

Distinguished Member
Tag&Rename is another good bet... does exactly what it says on the tin. :)