Question Quick Soundbar Input Question

Discussion in 'Soundbars, Soundplates & Soundbases' started by meltonboy, Jul 13, 2015.

  1. meltonboy

    meltonboy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +595
    I'm considering a soundbar for a second room. I see that my tv has an optical output which can be fed into the soundbar. Does this mean that the TV will pass though DD /DTS 5.1 sound from my BR and sky+ sources, through to the soundbar ?

    My TV is a samsung UE32J5500A.

    From a quick browse i have seen that soundbars that use multiple HDMI inputs to act as a switch (like an AVR) tend to be upper price range, and i was only looking to spend £200-£400. Most seem to have a single optical input at this price point.

    The reason for asking is that i'm attracted to a virtual surround type set up (eg a Yamaha sound processor) and assume that will be more convincing if given a 5.1 input.

    Thoughts on a suggested sound bar, given the above, also appreciated !

    Thanks

    MB
     
  2. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,598
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,543
    I don't know your TV and haven't looked at the specs (sorry :thumbsdow ) but many TV's are only stereo (internally as well as their own speakers) so would not pass through 5.1 DD/DTS audio to a soundbar. Even TV's that do pass 5.1 are often only capable of DD pass through (a license is still required and these cost money), although this may be changing as I've not looked at any TV's for a while.

    So my best advise is to rtfm to see what your TV can do :cool:

    Mark.
     
  3. meltonboy

    meltonboy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +595
    Thanks mate. what is "rtfm" ?

    MB
     
  4. mackie1

    mackie1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    Read the fluffing manual ;)
     
  5. meltonboy

    meltonboy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +595
    ^^ ha, tried that. It just tells you how to connect an optical cable. Have also emailed Samsung support.

    If the output is stereo i may as well get a fairly basic soundbar (not worry about surround effects) and look to get an avr with small speakers at a later date.

    MB
     
  6. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,598
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,543
    Well looking at the specs here it states
    http://www.samsung.com/uk/consumer/tv-audio-video/televisions/flat-tvs/UE32H5500AKXXU
    and page 231 of the manual also lists the audio formats it can decode.

    So it does handle 5.1 audio.

    Mark.
     
  7. meltonboy

    meltonboy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +595
    Thanks mark.

    I was a bit confused when i read the manual. Is being able to decode 5.1 the same as being able to pass it through as an output ? This was the bit i wasn't sure about.

    Cheers

    MB
     
  8. meltonboy

    meltonboy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +595
    To answer my own question (for future users) - no pass through:

    In which case i may as well get a basic unit and forget any surround effects until i get a proper AVR.

    MB
     
  9. dine

    dine
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone know if its possible to add additional speakers to the J450 Samsung 2.1 package and have it all work seamlessly?
     

Share This Page

Loading...