Quick question for those of you with Sky+ and a HDD Dvd Recorder

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by davidcotton, Dec 12, 2004.

  1. davidcotton

    davidcotton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi

    Since getting a working sky plus box I've been impressed with it. Now I want to replace the knackered vhs recorder with a dvd recorder.

    I've narrowed it down to three models. But now I'm stumped. The models are :-

    Toshiba xs32

    Panasonic E55

    Panasonic E85

    Now I'm not going to be using it that much, but would like one just in case either a) a friend wants something taping from sky, or b) I want to keep something that I've recorded my self.

    So the question is, how useful have you found having the dvd recorder with a hard drive in? Have you used it as much as you thought you would? Or less? Also how easy is the tosh (Yes I've read THAT thread :) )to use?

    Cheers.
     
  2. applevenus

    applevenus
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    have definitely found it useful (I have a Panny HS2). Although now that I've put a 250GB HD into my Sky+ box I don't need to transfer to DVD-R as much as I did before.
    It's great getting all those Jools Holland shows and some of the one-off music concerts onto DVD-R.
     
  3. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Same here. I couldn't afford a DVD recorder with HDD, but I bought it primarily to cope with a rapidly-filling Sky+ hard disk. Since upgrading my Sky+ to a 200GB drive, I've not filled it beyond 60%.
     
  4. davidcotton

    davidcotton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +6
    So it looks like the best bet would be an upgraded Sky + and a panny e55 just to burn the discs then? I don't really care about ads, and can fast forward them anyway.
     
  5. MikeNolan

    MikeNolan
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do you upgrade a Sky+ Box hard-disk. Mine is the basic 40gb, and yes you've guessed, it doesn't take too long to fill it.

    Thanks
    Mike
     
  6. davidcotton

    davidcotton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +6
  7. WarPig843

    WarPig843
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Most local independant satalite shops will upgade it for you.
     

Share This Page

Loading...