Quick question about DVDs created from VHS

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by HMHB, Nov 18, 2004.

  1. HMHB

    HMHB
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,981
    If copy a VHS tape (not copy protected) onto a DVD-R via my E85, is it possible at a later date to just copy the DVD in a PC with 2 DVD drives using Nero ?
     
  2. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    You don't need to DVD drives. The best way is to use a programme called DVD Decrypter to 'rip' the files onto your HDD. Then just use your normal DVD burning programme to create a new DVD-R. You can easily find DVD Decrypter's home page by doing a Google search...
     
  3. HMHB

    HMHB
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,981
    Cheers for that. I'm trying to set up a bit of a production-line copying my VHS tapes onto the HDD of the E85 and then burning 1 DVD from that and then hopefully a 2nd security copy on the PC. I assume 2nd copy is as good quality copying on the PC as it would be if I did 2 copies on the E85 ?
     
  4. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,364
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +146
    Yes it will be exactly the same. You could also re-author it if you want and create much better menus etc on a PC.
     
  5. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    Have fun :) I originally archived my 200+ VHS collection on my original Philips DVDR1000. The results were very average so I did it all again when I picked up the E20. And 2 years later on I have just done it again with the Panasonic E95 (to make better use of Flexible Record). The novelty has worn off now :)
     
  6. OARDVD

    OARDVD
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Deepest Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can understand you doing this to take advantage of the E95's superior MPEG encoding, but I don't see that FR has a bearing? I appreciate that the E20 only has FR in timer mode but surely you could have still achieved the same result using timer FR + pause/stop buttons?

    I assume that when you get a Blu-ray or HD DVD recorder that those VHS tapes will come out again! :laugh:
     
  7. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    Yes - and I did - I just made a few mistakes in my calculations :blush: and also did direct copy to DVD-R meaning I didn't top and tail recordings as I have subsequently done. The E20 did a good job on them and the E95 hasn't really bettered it TBH: I am just a perfectionist so did them all again.

    I doubt there would be any benefit to be honest. I will probably give it a go but I am very happy with my VHS disks now.
     
  8. burcac

    burcac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Some say the e95 has slightly superior PQ to e55/65/85?
    Is that true or just AV folklore?!
     
  9. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    Not that I've detected. I have had all four recorders plugged into my projector and plasma and they all looked identical as far as I could tell.
     

Share This Page

Loading...