1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

quick network question from newbie

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by newstuart, Jun 18, 2005.

  1. newstuart

    newstuart
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +55
    Ok, probally best explaining my aims first,
    I have 2 MCE PCs in the house one in living room and one in bedroom, The one in the living room is connected to a Telewest broadband modem also in the living room. the one in the bedroom has no broadband at present. what i want to achieve is,

    1) to be able to access internet on both PCs
    2) to be able to access the hardrive on the PC in the bedroom from the pc in the living room.

    I have pre wired a cat 5 network cable between both rooms. and both PCs have a lan network connection but the one in the living room has the broadband plugged into this

    I think a need a router ? (sorry first dealings with networks!) I have heard talk of different kinds of routers depending on the broadband connection so what do i need ? (I have no need for wireless connections at all)

    Think that covers it but any questrions please ask
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  3. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    I just bought this router/modem here.

    It has 4 ethernet ports so can work with up to four devices and each has independent access to the internet. So you only have to have the device you are using switched on....

    Routers are the best option as they also provide hardware firewalls, and other security measures.

    However....... you could just connect the two PC's with a crossover network cable and enable internet connection sharing, that will work fine too. I did that for about a year and never had any problems, only switched to a router to add a third device to the network.
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    lisa same one as i have at home my 4th linksys started of with a BEFSR41 that i paid £140 4 years ago :eek:
     
  5. newstuart

    newstuart
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +55
    could you please explain how you connected the 2 pcs using a crossover cable ? the living room pc (the one that has the broadband connection) only has 1 LAN point which at present has the broadband modem plugged into it
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    you would need to fit an extra NIC in that case much better to get a router mate if £30 is putting you off i picked up a netgear seconhand on the forum for £10 and was offered a linksys for £15
     
  7. newstuart

    newstuart
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +55
    thanks for the advice ill get looking on here now
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    crocodile had a linksys for sale, see if he still has it...
     
  9. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    Great minds think alike...... ;)
     
  10. newstuart

    newstuart
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +55
    Just got one of these from ebay for £20 including P&P, i didnt really need wireless but guess i may in the future, Hoping these are ok ? read a few reviews quickly before i bid

    linksys wirless broadband router befw11s4
     

Share This Page

Loading...