1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Quick JS converter question

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by Nessy, Jun 14, 2003.

  1. Nessy

    Nessy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    I am in the process of setting up my Sky box to my Hitachi plasma using a RGB to component converter from JS. Can anyone let me know " from left to right " which order the RGB connectors connect to the box.... as the sockets on the box ain't colour coded . I know this may be a bit of an obvious question but I'm a newbie at all this .


    Cheers

    Nessy
     
  2. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,907
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +14
    RGB Scart in & as per label on top of box out.

    Y=Green
    U=Blue
    V=Red

    With V/Red next to the left & right audio terminals that are stacked on top of one another.
     
  3. Nessy

    Nessy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers....


    Nessy
     
  4. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    Y - Y - Left most connector - Green
    U - Pb - Middle video connector - Blue,
    V - Pr - Right connector - Red.

    Two other phono connectors are for audio, left at the top, right at the bottom.

    I decided to opt for the better quality connector rather than one which was colour coded. I think that's more important.

    All the best,

    Dr John Sim.
     
  5. Nessy

    Nessy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    John,
    Where did you get the better quality connector from ?


    Cheers

    Nessy
     
  6. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Not sure that Dr John Sim will want to tell you where he buys his raw materials from!

    But RCA sockets can range from pennies (CPC, Maplin) through perhaps quids (Maplin) through to tens of quids (specialist audiophile ones, e.g. Cardas).

    Perhaps JS-Tech will start spraying all the internals of their kit black; a la Russ Andrews. :clown:

    StooMonster
     
  7. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    Sorry, can't say where I get the parts for these. I already know that other manufacturers are having a look inside my products. I think they're keen to have a look to see where they've gone wrong!

    I used to use parts from Maplin, but there not to be relied upon for when you're designing in parts. All Maplin parts were designed out of the circuits. RS however, sell only the best and is the first place I look.

    StooMonster: Not a bad idea to paint everything....

    All the best,

    Dr John Sim.
     
  8. Nessy

    Nessy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks like I may have crossed wires here " excuse the pun " I already have the JS box and all the cabling supplied. I thought you were referring to a better cable than the one supplied. Having read your reply again I see you are referring to the connectors you use. I also have the black scart to scart as per your website... would there be any benefit of upgrading this cable ?


    Cheers

    Nessy
     
  9. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    Nessy,
    yes, changing the cables can help. The biggest factor is using the right signals, then the cables. While you've made the biggest jump by using the right signal, there are some gains to be had by changing the cables.

    Everybody has their favourite cable. I like the Tech+Link ones, good performance and aren't too expensive, but there are other brands.

    All the best,

    John.
     

Share This Page

Loading...