Quick Electrician question if I may

John

Got a sparky coming out next week to quote on some work in my kitchen as it will be having a refit and leccy work is all notifiable these days.

Anyhow , Have got a new Induction Hob and Double Oven going in . Total rating 12.5Kw. These 2 items will replace an existing FreeStanding D/Oven&Hal hob total rating 10.9Kw.
This has its own connection on the CU with a 32Amp Rated MCB . Will it just be a case of disconnecting the freestanding cooker and connecting up the new kit , or am I looking at a new run from the CU :eek: not easy

Cheers

John

John Simon

I am by no means an expert but I understand that kitcheny-shower type items need their own individual breaker so you may need an additional feed.

IronGiant

A 9kW Unit should require 40 Amps, I'm assuming you have 40 Amp cable with the 32Amp circuitbreaker, so you are probably OK as it hasn't melted down. But it sounds like you may be underrated for your existing installation never mind a bigger one.

12.5kW would require 50Amps, so you need to check the rating of your existing cable at the very least. I know we were unable to install a 9kW shower because we only had 30 Amp cable so had to stick with 7kW.

Last edited:

IronGiant

Sounds like it to me, you probably need to put a new one in, in addition to what you have already, not even instead of. Sorry...

Last edited:

John

I thought as much . Have already looked round the usual DIY sites but some answers were not the clearest and others just turned into a bun fight over diversity and standards, Thought I would I know ask somewhere I know and can get the ban stick out if a bun fight ensued :rotfl:

niceguy235uk

By the time diversity is taken into account, the total loading on the appliances wont be that much.

However, any spark worth his salt should install an additional circuit for the other cooking appliance.

If not, get a gas hob.

Diversity= Current = watts / voltage (230).