1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Questions on Pioneer 50MXE1

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by topkiddy, Feb 26, 2005.

1. topkiddy

topkiddy
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

I'm a noob to this and had just started looking at the pioneer 505XDE when I came upon these forums. After reading through it became apparent that the 50MXE1 would probably be a better option using a scaler. I've looked at the 505XDE and thought the picture was ok from sky so my first question is will the 50MXE1 be that much better with a scaler?

Also from reading the posts it would appear that it's not HDCP compliant. At the moment this isn't to much of an issue but would be in the future. I've read that there are boards becoming available that will remedy this (Aurora TVP-500F). But that did raise a second question. Does the 50MXE1 only have VGA support as native and can this be used as the input from the scaler or is another board required.

I hope to go to the Bristol show tomorrow to at least have a look around and chat to people but if there is anyone who can offer advice before I go the extra information would be greatful.

Thanks,
    Anthony

2. topkiddy

topkiddy
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK been to the show now and seen a variety of screen and I'm going to go with the 50MXE.

I spoke to Phil of Uvem as he was running them and asked him about using it with a scaler. He said as I'm using NTL cable and DVD that it wasn't worth putting a scaler in the middle and to just go with the RCA board and convert from SCART RGB to component.

Anyone see a flaw in that logic, sounded ok to me but I'd like to hear if anyone else has thoughts on it.

Also the Show is extremely bad for the wallet :thumbsup:

3. MAW

MAW
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +412