Questions about surround speaker setup

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by Rick106, Aug 12, 2002.

1. Rick106

Rick106
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys and gals,
    I'm a new member. This forum seems pretty cool, and I'm very new to this home entertainment malarky, so any help and advice is very much appreciated.
    I'm looking to spend around £200 on a dolby surround sound system. My dvd player is DTS an Dolby Digital compatable. i have a widescreen 28" TV, but its only a Beko one for £230.
    I've just got a few questions i'd like to ask first tho:

1) My TV doesn't have any extra sound ports, it does have a phono jack and Dual Scart. But if watching regular TV and not a DVD how would the surround sound work, as the dvd player wont be switched on? Or the same if watching a Video.
    2) Do I have to buy a 5.1 surround system, or can i just buy 5 seperate speakers to plug straight in to my DVD player, as it has got a Digital Dolby decoder inbuilt?
    3) What is the best way to compare Surround sound systems? How can I tell how good a system is before purchase, as you can buy a 5.1 surround system for £25. But I'm sure it wouldn't compare to one for £200. I'm just asking what spec. I should look at?
    4) What is the difference between a THX certified speaker system and one that's not?
    5) What Surrround sound System would everyond recommend for around £200 or cheaper ofcourse?

thanks for looking,
    Rich

2. Rick106

Rick106
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is no one willing to help me?:(
    I'd really like to find out, how i'm supposed to connect it all up. I'd like to be able to watch tv in Dolby pro-logic mode, but my tv is only Nicam stereo, can this still be achieved?
    Any advice at all would be great. Thanks,
    Rich

3. groundy

groundy
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1