1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by paiger, Feb 5, 2002.

1. paiger

paiger

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am pretty new to these new fangled games machines, my current one being a Binatone. Unfortunately one of the sticks broke so I can only play Target in single player mode.

My question is, with these brilliant graphics, would it not be possible to lose yourself in the realism and imagine that you were actually in 'space'? The power of these consoles is amazing. I remember a mate of mine had his Vic 20 hooked up to a wind up telephone in his shed and was messing with the very fabric of the universe.

This begs the question, what could you do with these machines? Some of these virtual reality games are so good you can almost 'be' somebody else. Can I be that bloke in the Italian Job who sweeps the floor? I bet I could.

What do you think? Do want to go to 'space' or are you scared?

S

2. brattle

brattle
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is your real name Matthew Broderick perchance?

3. annefromuk

annefromuk

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hate it when any games machine finally gives up.

I used to love getting my old Acorn Electron out to play (similar to the BBC Micro).

After about 5 Years the power lead connector into the machine had used a whole roll of sellotape, just to keep it at the correct angle to stop it from shorting out!!! (not good when it takes about 5 mins to load a game)

Bit finally the Electron lost its hearing and could no longer hear the beeps from the tapes :(

Now it lives a peaceful life in the loft. R.I.P

Anne