1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question regarding faulty goods

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Miyazaki, Aug 22, 2005.

  1. Miyazaki

    Miyazaki
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +849
    Hi,

    I bought a wireless router back in April from amazon.co.uk, it has become faulty. Who would I send it back to?

    Amazon or netgear?

    Thanks.
     
  2. shahedz

    shahedz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,282
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    i think amazon, i have never had a problem, but my mate did with a dvd palyer and their returns policy is quite good!
     
  3. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +468
    i would think amazon...but have you spoken with netgear support or tried to download newest firmware?....i have found netgear to be really helpful and knowledgeable
     
  4. Miyazaki

    Miyazaki
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +849
    Thanks for the help lads :thumbsup:

    I have phoned netgear, but I really struggle with Indian accents, I couldn't understand a word he said. Then again, their call centre could be in northern ireland :D

    I have the latest firmware on my router as well.
     
  5. GaryB

    GaryB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +1,266
    The retailer is generally responsible for after-sales service. You should contact them first and go to the manufacturer only if that fails. Some retailers have an arrangement with the manufacturer for the manufacturer to carry out their support, in which case they will tell you that.
     
  6. Squiffy

    Squiffy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    9,663
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Ashford, Kent
    Ratings:
    +2,817
    Don't let them fob you off with the manufacturer.

    Your contract is with Amazon.

    And under the distance selling regs, any faults that arise within the first six months are deemed to have existed when you bought the goods unless the retailer can prove otherwise. You are still comfortably within the six months, so the onus is on Amazon to refund/replace/repair, or to prove that the goods were damaged through your actions.
     
  7. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    I personally would go with Netgear in my circumstances, but amazon are good so that may be your best bet. I would have to disagree about Netgear Support being anything other than atrocious!!!! It is ipmsosilbe ot unrdseatnd tehir 1st lnie sorpput! They also read from a script and cant help you unless you follow all their stupid instructions, though second line support is much better. The products, however, are generally good, and I am a Netgear tech on their forums when I have time.
     
  8. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
  9. Miyazaki

    Miyazaki
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +849
    Thanks Lynx. Thats exactly the same router I have, and it has the exact same fault. I'll take a look and let you know. You're a star! :thumbsup:
     
  10. Dr Diversity

    Dr Diversity
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It has to be Amazon. They have been helpful in the past. Latest firmware is usually a good check though. Is there a 'reset to defaults' mode that you could try in case something has locked up?
     
  11. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    PM me if you have problems. A look on th Netgear forums site will show me as the resident DG834G expert... I know most stuff that its needed to know about that router, great device when you know what to look for.
     
  12. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    I had a problem with a Netgear router a while back, I called them directly and they replaced the unit... Their CS is very good IMO...
     
  13. Astaroth

    Astaroth
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,256
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +97
    You can approach either of them but generally speaking the retailer is your best bet - unless you are looking for technical advice in which case the manufacturer should know their products best
     
  14. Miyazaki

    Miyazaki
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +849
    Thanks a lot guys. I will give amazon a bell today. Anyone notice how amazon's telephone number isn't listed on their website. :rolleyes:

    A quick search on yell.co.uk sorted that out ;)

    If they can't sort me out, I will give you a PM explicitlyrics, many thanks :clap:
     
  15. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +468
    talk about coincidence after replying to this post the other day my DG384 died!!....I think it was just power cable to be honest but it gave me excuse to buy the the newer GT 108mbps version. Having connected it up though I am not getting an IP Address for the ADSL port. I've spoken to Netgear who were very helpful and we tried a bt test connection and pinged a few ip address to prove the router was working so I suspect the problem is Wanadoo.....their tech support is useless and unless you have one of their routers they can't advise a solution!!!.........any ideas chaps? I could get a Wanadoo router and then replace it again with the netgear which hopefully should pick up the settings.........but there must be an easier solution that......mustn't there?
    edit: just looked at link above and it seems maybe GT wasn't best option after all.......but i did hook up the G version again using the new power lead and still had no IP address.
     

Share This Page

Loading...